Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

DMG 271 describes the disarm action and states that if the attack roll is successful, the defender "drops the item."

SRD 92 lists things you can do on your turn in tandem with your move and action. One of these options is "pick up a dropped axe," which I can infer means "pick up a dropped anything."

So by the rules as written, can you disarm someone as an action, and then just take the item at no additional cost? Is this really how stealing happens in combat? (I'd always kind of imagined that Sleight of Hand would be involved somehow)

(If it doesn't, what does?)

share|improve this question
How would Sleight of Hand help you steal something the enemy is clutching (not to mention attempting to kill you with)? – Miniman Mar 18 at 1:42
Possibly answered here though questions are different so not a dupe. – Purple Monkey Mar 18 at 1:42
Would Disarm + Tumble do the trick? – Robert Mar 18 at 1:53
Historical note: In some earlier editions, if you disarmed someone while unarmed yourself, you could indeed start wielding their confiscated weapon against them. – GMJoe Mar 18 at 2:37
@GMJoe — :) – Quentin Mar 18 at 8:34
up vote 17 down vote accepted


Sleight of hand would only be relevant if you were trying to steal something without being noticed. In this case, the victim definitely knows that you've disarmed them, and presumably sees you pick it up. Attempting to steal a wielded weapon without being noticed, however, would require either a very, very good sleight of hand roll, or possibly a disarm check combined with a very good stealth check.

share|improve this answer
It's also worth noting the difference between disarm and steal. You can't generally steal an object someone is holding, that would be a disarm. On the reverse side, you can't disarm their belt pouch filled with gold, that would be stealing. – Ethan Mar 18 at 12:35

Yes; stealing is taking the possession of another person with the intention of permanently depriving them of it; the other person's knowledge or ignorance of it is irrelevant.

Perhaps you are confused between the modus operandi of the pickpocket, who uses the Dexterity (Slight of Hand) check, and the bag snatcher, who doesn't?

In any event, I would be more concerned with the charges of Assault, Affray, Grievous Bodily Harm and potentially Murder that you are facing instead of the relatively minor crime of Stealing.

share|improve this answer
Very amusing, but not really an answer. – barbecue Mar 18 at 13:19

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.