Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

While making an Bladesinger Wizard I wondered if I would be able to use Booming Blade twice while hasted.

Booming Blade: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails.

Haste: Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.

What exactly do they mean with:"one weapon attack only". Is this to prevent characters with the extra attack to make 2 melee actions? Does this prevent me from casting 2 spells (cantrip or higher spells) in a single turn?

share|improve this question
up vote 19 down vote accepted

You are correct in assuming that the additional action is restricting use of the extra attack class feature. The "one attack only" stipulation is preventing the use of the extra attack feature in the additional action, so a character with extra attack could use his regular action to make 2 attacks and use the additional action granted by haste to attack once more. This is to prevent say, a fighter at level 20 who gets 3 extra attacks from having 8 attacks in a single turn on top of a possible bonus action.

As for booming blade, you cannot cast a spell with the additional action because the actions granted by the haste spell do not include the Cast a Spell action. Booming blade in particular describes that as part of the action used to cast the spell you make an attack, this does not change the action to an attack action, you are still casting a spell.

share|improve this answer

"one weapon attack only" is for characters with multi-attack, so they can only take one attack with their attack action instead of being able to take two, three or four attacks.

While you are hasted, you cannot cast a spell (cantrip or otherwise) with your second action on your turn (only allowed to attack (melee or ranged), dash, disengage, hide or use an object). Thus you definitely can't use Booming Blade twice in a turn, since you can't cast another spell after you've already cast one.

share|improve this answer
    
Perhaps you could comment on the implications this has for TWF, and whether a TWF attack counts as "one weapon attack" (it is not a multiattack) or two separate. The common English language interpretation of "one weapon attack" suggests you could not TWF with Haste. – LegendaryDude Mar 23 at 16:13
1  
@LegendaryDude TWF uses a bonus action, you only ever get one of those. – wax eagle Mar 23 at 16:14
    
Yes, but it might help to clarify that in your answer. Up to you. :) – LegendaryDude Mar 23 at 16:15
4  
@LegendaryDude seems like adding unnecessary info to me. – wax eagle Mar 23 at 16:16

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.