Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

It seems to be that if a spell is a 4th-level X (wizard/sorcercer/etc) spell it is also a 4th-level Y (bard/warlock/etc) spell (provided both classes have it). Is that true?

Are cantrips always cantrips independent of class? Is every 1st level level, always a 1st-level?

share|improve this question
up vote 10 down vote accepted

Yes

You'll notice in the player's handbook that spells (and their level) are listed without any reference to the classes that can use them. The spell lists for each class are separate. Spell level is independent of the class using it in 5e.

share|improve this answer
1  
Do you think that the Warlock's unique spell/level feature is worth adding to this? The change in spell level as cast with Warlock level may or may not need a cross reference to p. 78 basic rules on "Casting a Spell at a Higher Level." – KorvinStarmast Mar 23 at 19:22
3  
@KorvinStarmast I do not. The Warlock feature is simply that all warlock spell slots are of the same level. The level of a spell is separate from the level of spell slot used to cast it and I consider all of that to be a separate question. Man oh man do I wish there was better terminology for this though. – Ceribia Mar 23 at 19:42
    
good point, and "scope creep" may not help the answer in any case. – KorvinStarmast Mar 23 at 19:59

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.