Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

How does a brutal weapon interact with crit dice that are granted through a magic weapon or a high-crit weapon?


  1. +2 Magic Mordenkrad, 2d6, Brutal 1. 2d6 on critical hit. Obviously the dice rolled for [W] damage are brutal 1. Are the 2d6 crit dice brutal 1 as well or are they treated as normal dice?

  2. Mundane Executioner's axe. d12, Brutal 2, high-crit. The dice rolled for normal [W] damage are Brutal 2. Are the [W] dice granted by high-crit brutal 2 as well?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted
  1. No the extra 2d6 are not brutal. Dice granted via a magic weapon are not [W] damage, but extra dice.
  2. Yes, the extra dice granted by high-crit are brutal as they are specifically [W] damage.

From the Adventurer's Vault FAQ

I am wielding a magic weapon with brutal 2. If I roll a critical hit, do I get to re-roll 1s and 2s when I roll for the bonus damage?

No, the brutal weapon trait only applies to rolls for normal weapon damage, signified by [W]. The bonus damage for critical hits does not qualify for this. However, because high crit adds a [W] roll (or 2[W] or 3[W] depending on your level), you would get to re-roll any 1s or 2s.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.