So, in Pathfinder, it seems that being able to use stealth in order to gain sneak attacks only works in the surprise round, with the rules as written.
So, imagine a scenario where we have a sniper (rogue) firing against a fighter, who has total concealment from anyone he is firing upon. Also assume that sniper beats all perception rolls to know where he is. (Even with the -20 penalty for sniping).
Surprise Round: Sniper catches the fighter unaware, and gets to use sneak attack damage against the fighter because he is flat footed.
1st Regular round: Fighter acts first, but is no longer flat footed because he has acted but has no idea where the sniper is. Sniper fires again, but can not use precision damage since the Fighter still gets a Dexterity bonus, presumably because the sniper is "somewhere" shooting at him.
This continues, sniper never gets precision damage again because he will never catch the fighter without his dex bonus.
Change the scenario just a little bit. Now the Sniper is Invisible which states the following:
Invisible creatures are visually undetectable. An invisible creature gains a +2 bonus on attack rolls against sighted opponents, and ignores its opponents' Dexterity bonuses to AC (if any). See the invisibility special ability.
Does mean the Sniper now can do precision damage since the Fighter no longer gets to apply his dexterity bonus, or is the subtle wording difference between "ignores" and "denied" make a big deal?
If the Sniper does get his sneak attack, why would making stealth rolls be any different?