Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I was creating a Paladin recently and came across a conundrum...save for a Daily power, he has no ranged abilities, meaning I can't engage a creature I cannot reach by the end of my turn.

So my question is...is it possible to PICK UP a javelin, throwing hammer/axe/dagger, etc. after it has been used? And do I need to "buy" multiple javelins, etc. to use more than one per encounter?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 10 down vote accepted

Yes. You automatically collect any thrown weapons after the encounter. You will probably want several of them just to make sure you can use them. I play a couple of heavy melee chars and they both carry about 5 javelins and have never run out.

Of interest, if you pick up a magic javelin you will only need one. Magic thrown weapons return after they are thrown.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Yes, you can pick up a thrown weapon within the encounter. The DM needs to decide how to determine its location. I don't believe there are existing rules for this, but it's pretty simple to make one up. If the attack was a hit, either the weapon is lodged in the target or not -- probably not. If it was a miss, or the weapon struck and fell, roll 1d8 to determine its location:

+---+---+---+
| 1 | 2 | 3 |
+---+---+---+
| 4 | T | 5 |
+---+---+---+
| 6 | 7 | 8 |
+---+---+---+

(T is the target.)

You can pick up a weapon from your square or a nearby square as a minor action. (PHB p289) You should carefully consider whether you want your character to have to close on the thrown weapon and pick it up before making another attack.

share|improve this answer
    
Related - rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/7861/… I asked the question because of this current question. –  wax eagle May 13 '11 at 19:38
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.