I assume that if the attack hits, it lands in the target's space or is embedded in the target in some way.
However, if the attack misses where does it land? Is it assumed that whoever threw it has at least enough accuracy that it landed in the same square as the target? Does it even land in their vicinity?
The compendium says that arrows, bolts and bullets are all consumed upon firing. Also, magical thrown weapons return to the thrower after the attack. So this question really only applies to mundane thrown weapons.
I know this is an odd question, but it could have consequences in a more extended combat sequence, or if you want to pick up an opponents mundane thrown weapon.
As this does not seem to be covered in the rules as written what are some suggestions for dealing with this situation should it arise?