Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This came up in our game this past week.

A character is reduced to negative hit points and is dying. Our Psion uses a conjuration to stabilize the dying character on that character's turn.

I understand that a stabilized character is no longer required to make death saving throws. My question is, on their turn can the character make the saving throw in order to try to get to 20 and spend a healing surge?

If this is possible I assume it would not count towards the number of failed saving throws (sort of like being granted a save out of turn).

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 9 down vote accepted

No,

Assuming the power used was Summon Thought Servant DDI, it works exactly like a Heal check.

Opportunity Action: Triggered when a dying ally adjacent to the servant starts its turn; targets the triggering ally; the servant makes a Heal check to stabilize the target or to allow the target to use his or her second wind

In a Heal check, the subject is told to stop making death saving throws. There is no option to willingly make them. In addition, the subject is still likely unconscious and cannot take any actions.

Stabilize the Dying (DC 15): If the subject is dying, the subject stops making death saving throws until it takes damage. Being stabilized does not change the subject’s current hit point total.

Note that there is no stabilized condition and being stabilized does not remove the Dying condition. The character is no longer required to make Death Saving Throws.

This means that a stabilized character is still a valid target for effects like Energizing Strike DDI and Get Up! DDI

The Dying condition is removed from the character only when the character regains hit points. Being stabilized is not enough.

share|improve this answer
    
What about granted saving throws? Can a stabilized player continue to make those? Or no saving throws whatsoever? –  wax eagle May 18 '11 at 19:09
1  
Even if you are granted a saving throw you still have to have a condition which is ended by a saving throw in order to make it. Once you are stable you no longer have the dying condition. –  Cthos May 18 '11 at 21:17
2  
@cthos - making the saving throw does not end the dying condition, only regaining hit points. Of course if you roll a 20 on that special roll then you're no longer Dying. –  Pat Ludwig May 19 '11 at 14:42
1  
@wax - np, it is an interesting question with some ramifications. –  Pat Ludwig May 19 '11 at 14:45
1  
@Pat Ludwig, yeah, dying is a special kind of saving throw, but it's essentially the same thing. The throw can end the condition, and you have to make the throw while you have the condition, and once you no longer have the condition, it doesn't apply anymore. –  Cthos May 19 '11 at 15:04
show 2 more comments

You make death saving throws only when you are dying; that is, when you have the dying condition.

Once stabilized, you effectively no longer have the dying condition; it's been replaced with the stabilized condition.

General principle: you only make rolls when called for by the rules. If you can act, you might be able to trigger some roll, but stabilized characters are, like dying characters, unable to act. If someone has an ability which grants some roll, and uses it, then the roll gets made.

share|improve this answer
    
Nice You beat me to it! :D –  Cthos May 18 '11 at 19:22
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.