Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

So I've looked in PHB1 and 2, as well as all over the internets, and I can't find a clear answer.

I play a level 12 Dreadnought Fighter, wearing Rimefire Plate armor. The armor gives a static "Resist 1 All," and my Dreadnought Path feature "Dreadnought Action" grants me "Resist 10 All" when I use an action point to attack. After spending an action point, would I have Resist 11 All or Resist 10 All?

I also have items and a power that can grant me resist all. Do any of these stack? I've been playing it as they don't, but I'd love if they did.

share|improve this question
    
While I can't help you since I don't know D&D 4e all that well I did add the 4e tag so hopefully the folks who do know will respond a little quicker! –  mirv120 May 18 '11 at 21:14
add comment

1 Answer

Nope

Unless it specifically says otherwise they do not stack. It's item 28 on the PHB FAQ over at Wizards.com.

Note that this applies to all resistances, so you'd only get the Resist 10 All.

Edit:

Here's a snippet from the Compendium entry that is linked in the FAQ.

Not Cumulative: Resistances against the same damage type are not cumulative. Only the highest resistance applies. For example, if you have resist 5 cold and then gain resist 10 cold, you have resist 10 cold, not resist 15 cold. Similarly, if you have resist 5 cold and then gain resist 2 to all damage, you still have resist 5 cold, not resist 7 cold.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks Cthos. This isn't the answer I was hoping for, but it is what I expected. Thanks for quoting your source too. –  Jason White May 25 '11 at 22:49
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.