Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was finally getting around to reading my 4E Essentials books, specifically the Heroes of the Fallen Lands Wizard, the Mage. After discovering the nice hybrid of Vancian and 4E Core magic, I noticed that a Mage, regardless of school, gains 3 Cantrips at 1st level.

What I'm getting at is this; Does a 4E Mage gain more Cantrips as they progess in level or do they only know the 3 Cantrips from levels 1 to 30?

share|improve this question
After fiddling around with an Eladrin Mage I realized that they don't gain At-Wills either and are stuck with the 2 (3 if you count the standard Magic Missile) they began play with. I thought this was almost under-powering until I counted the sheer number of Encounter and Daily spells they get later in game! – Sorcerer Blob May 25 '11 at 14:06
Being them At-Wills, you don't really need to know more than 1 (2 is for some variety): you never run out of them. This is true for every D&D 4e class (except psionics, but psionics use slightly different mechanics). So, it's not like you will get stuck with no spells and be "underpowered" – Zachiel Nov 9 '14 at 17:29
up vote 4 down vote accepted


They only know their cantrips they start the game with. However, it is reasonable to ask to learn an extra one as a feat, due to the precedent set with the Psion.

Diverse Focus [Elan Bloodline]

Heroic Tier

Prerequisite: Elan Heritage, psion, Discipline Focus class feature

Benefit: Choose and gain a Discipline Focus other than one you already possess. You can use any powers associated with that Discipline Focus as daily powers.

and with Gnome:

Fey Trickster

Heroic Tier

Prerequisite: Gnome

Benefit: You gain the wizard cantrips mage hand and prestidigitation as encounter powers.

As the cantrips are Wizard Utility spells without a level, it's impossible to take them in your utility slots. (Though that would be a perfectly reasonable house-rule, considering the relative utility of cantrips and utility powers.)

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.