Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A scenario from our game last night.

We are facing monsters with an Aura 2 that causes 5 cold damage and stacks (enter or start turn in aura). These guys also have an attack that immobilizes and does ongoing 5 cold damage.

Our rogue has the Crown of the Winter King on (resist 5 cold).

During the round one of the monsters attacks her and she is immobilized and has ongoing 5 cold. She is also in the aura of 2 of the monsters.

How much cold damage does she take at the start of her turn?

10 because she takes 15 and only has resist 5 
5 because she resists both the save ends damage and half of the aura damage?
share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 6 down vote accepted

The character takes 0 damage.

Being subjected to 3 instances of 5 cold damage does not stack, and each is resisted.

Note - I'm assuming you are referring to the Chillborn Zombie DDI as it appears to match your description.

The Chillborn Zombie was created when the rule was that a creature was only subjected to one instance of damage from overlapping auras. That rule was changed in May 2010. When created, the zombie needed an exception noted in it's aura. It isn't needed since the rule change, and there is no need to grant it a further exception.

This change removes the rule that prevents stacking in damage auras, ensuring that monsters are achieving correct damage output

There is a discussion of this change on the wizards boards, with clarification from customer service.

share|improve this answer
That is the one I was referring to. Thanks for the rule change information, I will take a look when I have access to Wizards. –  wax eagle May 27 '11 at 17:11
add comment

Unless the power specifically say so (as you wrote it seems the case of these monsters' aura), don't stack together damage from different sources.

I see 2 effects on the character that occur at the start of her turn:

  • The merged auras 10 cold damage, and
  • The ongoing 5 damage.

Both these effect occur at the start of the Rogue's turn, but the rules, they happen sequentially. And - as a side note - she can choose the order in which they happen.

Being two separate effects, damage resistance applies against each one. So, the Rogue gets only 5 cold damage (by halving the merged aura damage and totally ignoring the ongoing damage).

share|improve this answer
Cool, that is how we played it and I thought that was the correct ruling, but I wanted to make sure of it. –  wax eagle May 27 '11 at 13:41
Auras do not merge. They "overlap", with each one being a separate and distinct source of damage. I believe that @Pat Ludwig's answer is the correct one, unless @Erik Burigo can find any reference to support the notion of "merged" auras. –  Kromey May 27 '11 at 17:13
@Kromey: I know auras usually don't stack (in fact, any named element in the game doesn't stack with other copies of itself). But in the answer, @wax eagle specifically states that: "We are facing monsters with an Aura 2 that causes 5 cold damage and stacks". I assumed this is a special exception that type of monster explicitly spells out. A reference to those monsters will be, in fact, very appreciated. :) –  Erik Burigo May 29 '11 at 18:34
add comment

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.