Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

At first level, you know 2 at wills, 1 encounter, and 1 daily power.

Let's say I'm a Tiefling Wizard.

I have an racial power of "Infernal Wrath" which is an encounter power. Wizards can also learn Burning Hands, Chill Strike, Force Orb, Icy Terrain, and Ray of Enfeeblement.

Does this mean I can only use one of the six? Or can I use Infernal Wrath, and another of the five for the class?

Similarly, there are 4 cantrips, and 5 at will spells. I get 2 at-will powers at first level, so does that mean I get the 4 cantrips and 2 of the 5? Or only 2 of the total 9.


share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted


The limitation on power choices comes from within the class and is only applicable to choices offered by the class.

A tiefling wizard will get their racial power for free and cannot take cantrips as first level powers outside of the class feature because they are described as "Wizard Utility" without a level. Only class features may grant powers without a level on the power.

Beyond the racial power, the cantrips, they also get 2 wizard at-will 1's , learn 2 wizard encounter 1's and 2 'wizard daily 1`'s Of the two encounters and two dailies offered by the wizard class, they can prepare one each, as per the rules of the wizard spellbook.

share|improve this answer
So the bottom line is... I get the cantrips and 2 more at wills, I get two of the encounters, and I have to prepare one of them, forgoing the other for the day, two dailies, one of which must be prepared, the forgone for the day, AND I get my Tiefling racial without needing to prepare it? – corsiKa Jun 5 '11 at 14:48
@Total - correct. – Simon Withers Jun 5 '11 at 16:25
Awesome. I thought it would be silly to give someone 4 powers in one category, and 5 in another, and only let them pick 2 of the 9. Thanks! – corsiKa Jun 5 '11 at 17:10

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.