Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If you take into effect the blast rules and the line-of-sight rules, how should we play the blast? Would it wrap the nine squares in front of him, including the wall? Would it go the nine diagonal that would then hit the Goblin?

blast & line of sight

Thanks for any help on the matter!

share|improve this question
Is this a blast 3 power? Is the attacker in the location shown in the second pic? – wax eagle Jun 8 '11 at 15:37
@wax eagle: Yes. Using a blast 3 and the pictures we see. – Curtis Miller Jun 8 '11 at 15:38
My 4e books are packed up at the moment, but I believe that there is a rule that states that line of effect is required to each square in the blast. Hopefully someone can dig up an actual citation. – AceCalhoon Jun 8 '11 at 15:45
Since you are including an image, it would be helpful if you overlaid your proposed blast to make it clear what you're asking. – okeefe Jun 8 '11 at 16:59
I would DM Fiat a resounding "no." Simply based on the "you can't cast a spell in a wall!" – Sorcerer Blob Jun 8 '11 at 17:33
up vote 4 down vote accepted

In the diagram shown, a blast 3 power would not effect either of the targets there is nowhere to start a blast that would reach them. However, were the character to move up one square they would be able to use the top right corner as the start of the blast and actually effect both targets with no penalty.

There are two reason for this.

  1. The blast would not reach the targets. You have line of effect to the Bugbear, but the blast will not reach him.

  2. If the blast were larger it would reach the Bugbear but not the goblin as there is blocking terrain in the way. I believe the Bugbear would have cover depending on the origin square as one of the line would be blocked.

share|improve this answer
+1: Trace lines from the origin square to determine cover, superior cover and line of effect as per Dungeon Master's Guide, page 43. – Erik Burigo Jun 9 '11 at 11:03

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.