Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm looking specifically at Bloodbath.


As you can see the power deals 1 [W] + Dexterity modifier damage on both the Hit and the Effect.

Do both the hit and the effect gain from vulnerability? Or do I calculate my total damage and then apply the vulnerability?

Let's say it was a Frost Weapon. Does the bonus from Gloves of Ice apply once or twice?

share|improve this question
Part of the question is, does the vulnerability even come in to play for the Effect portion. Let's see what people have to say… – Eugene Katz Jun 21 '11 at 18:40
huh funky question. Nice. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jun 21 '11 at 23:14
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Vulnerability triggers each time a creature takes damage:

If you have vulnerable 5 fire, then any time you take fire damage, you take an additional 5 fire damage.

In this case, the target takes damage twice: Once when the power hits, and a second time when the effect triggers. As vulnerability is tied to taking damage rather than being hit, each instance of damage will receive the bonus.

share|improve this answer
I guess it's dependent on the language for each source of increased damage then. Gloves of Ice say "+2 to damage rolls" so I suppose it applies twice as well, since I'm rolling damage twice. – dpatchery Jun 21 '11 at 19:07
Interesting... Frozen Whetstone states "any successful attack with the weapon deals an extra 2 cold damage". So that would only apply once for Bloodbath. I think they need to standardize the wording of these things! – dpatchery Jun 21 '11 at 19:09
I think the Frozen Whetstone would do damage twice as well, since the effect is a successful attack from the weapon. (i.e. 1[W] ) – GMNoob Jun 21 '11 at 20:28
@dpatchery, you're correct: there are things that trigger on successful attack (anything on the hit line) and things that trigger on damage rolled (anything within a damage expression that uses dice). It's very language dependent. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jun 21 '11 at 23:15
Just to put in, I would also add that same source only works once, but once on the type of effect. Since the Hit is happening once and you did hit, then you damaged them, all sources can be applied once. Since the effect while part of the same source in terms of power, its happening on a different section, the sources would all trigger once again. The only time this would be an exception would basically be if it said "once per round" or "once per turn" – zapoqx Jun 22 '11 at 3:04

Effects happen regardless of hit or not, they just happen, but they only happen once. They happen after the Hit is resolved, so I'm thinking that yes, it applies twice, but only twice.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.