Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I make an opportunity attack with some combination of riders that will cause a hit to stun (or if the victim has already taken some action, daze) can the target of my attack continue their movement?

Opportunity Attack

Moving Provokes: If an enemy leaves a square adjacent to you, you can make an opportunity attack against that enemy. However, you can’t make one if the enemy shifts or teleports or is forced to move away by a pull, a push, or a slide.

...

Interrupts Target’s Action: An opportunity action takes place before the target finishes its action. After the opportunity attack, the creature resumes its action. If the target is reduced to 0 hit points or fewer by the opportunity attack, it can’t finish its action because it’s dead or dying.

Immediate Actions

Interrupt: An immediate interrupt lets you jump in when a certain trigger condition arises, acting before the trigger resolves. If an interrupt invalidates a triggering action, that action is lost.

So, which takes precedence? The daze or stun invalidating the movement? Or the comment that after the opportunity action the creature resumes its action?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 10 down vote accepted

After the opportunity attack, the creature resumes its action. [Emphasis mine.]

It doesn't say that the target gets to complete its action, only that it gets to resume it. However, now that the target is stunned (or, as you point out, dazed, if it has already taken another action), the action it was performing is now invalid, so upon resuming the action said action now simply fails. I think this is what they were trying to express with that last bit about "If the target is reduced to 0 hit points...", but they could have been more general to make it more clear.

The same would happen if an AoO were to render a target immobilized, for example -- it now can't move, so its movement action now fails.

share|improve this answer
    
O_O I somewhat could not interpret what you just said or I'm just more tired than I thought. You're basically saying if the attack stuns them on the movement provoke, then they can't finish the movement cause of no actions; Dazing would be similar in that it fails to continue IF the target did one other action prior; and the immobilized example, the movement action fails basically because you just expended a movement that is now impossible (Assuming you had a standard and a minor left if you weren't dazed or stunned), correct? –  zapoqx Jun 24 '11 at 5:58
5  
@zapoqx Yep, that's how it works. Action prvokes OA -> OA goes off -> creature resumes its turn with any conditions applied by the OA. Follow normal rules for stunning, dazing, etc at that point. Also note that the creature can save against those effects (if applicable) at the end of it's current turn, so you may not get as much out of the stun as normal. –  dpatchery Jun 24 '11 at 11:58
    
Ok. Just wanted to clarify if anyone was in the same boat as I was reading that. I knew it works like that anyway, just the way it was written and how I saw it last night made it seem like it conflicted with what I knew how OA works with such conditions. –  zapoqx Jun 24 '11 at 18:53
add comment

Yes. Compare for instance the description of the "Slowed" condition:

Slowed

Your speed becomes 2. This speed applies to all your movement modes, but it does not apply to teleportation or to a pull, a push, or a slide. You can’t increase your speed above 2, and your speed doesn’t increase if it was lower than 2. If you’re slowed while moving, stop moving if you have already moved 2 or more squares.

It's quite clear that if something happens to you while you're moving (an OA, a trap or environmental hazard, an immediate interrupt) it can end the move in the middle of things.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.