Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Battlemind has a Paragon path called Zephyr Blade that has a Daily power called Storm Dance Strike.

Storm Dance Strike allows the Battlemind to enter into a stance that allows for an Opportunity Action.

The trigger for the Opportunity Action is:

Trigger: An adjacent enemy marked by you moves without shifting

Does that mean if an enemy adjacent to the Battlemind is pulled, pushed, or slide, then the Battlemind can attack with this power?

Does forced movement trip the trigger of "moves without shifting"?

share|improve this question
The general rule is "forced movement does not provoke OAs". In this case, it says the enemy "moves", not "is moved". – Adriano Varoli Piazza Jun 24 '11 at 21:28
up vote 6 down vote accepted

No. Forced Movement does not provoke. Plain and simple.

willing movement
Movement of any sort that a creature does of its own free will. Any other sort of movement, such as forced movement, is unwilling.

Since the creature is not moving of its own accord, but compelled to, it won't count. If the enemy MOVES on ITS turn, then ya, the trigger can go off.

share|improve this answer
Would willing teleportation trigger this opportunity action? – Mark Rogers Jun 25 '11 at 15:26
Teleportation is instantaneous and one of the sub-rules is No Opportunity Actions Triggered – GMNoob Jun 25 '11 at 18:10

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.