Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Well, I did not find anywhere a rule against it. Am I right in assuming that they can maintain their alternate form when they sleep?

share|improve this question
    
This realydeoends in if you consider being asleep as being unconcious –  GMNoob Jun 29 '11 at 6:33
2  
I removed the "Changeling" tag as I am pretty certain it is a tag for White Wolf's Changeling series of games and not the D&D race. –  GPierce Jun 29 '11 at 17:40
    
I convinced a dm to allow me to play as a changling once... he swore he would never do it again. –  MirroredFate Jul 1 '11 at 20:54
add comment

1 Answer

Yes. The power that allows a changeling to disguise themselves states:

The new form lasts until you change form again.

enter image description here

The only thing that would supersede the wording of the power is the unconscious condition, but there is nothing there that indicates that effects end.

Unconscious

While a creature is unconscious, it is helpless, it can’t take actions, and it takes a -5 penalty to all defenses. It also can’t flank and is unaware of its surroundings. When a creature is subjected to this condition, it falls prone, if possible. See also helpless and prone.

If you're still not convinced, take a look at the glossary entry for Polymorph:

Death Ends: Polymorph effects end immediately on a creature that dies.

Nothing there about being unconscious either.

There's also a discussion here that goes into more detail and covers other effects (Auras, conjurations, marks, stances, etc).

share|improve this answer
    
Good to know... (Chuckles evilly) But in all seriousness, this is exactly how I interpreted it. I would argue they would only lose their form upon death as a player, and that's just what I'd rule as a DM. –  GPierce Jun 29 '11 at 14:53
    
Another hint is that there's no sustain entry, which implies that the Changeling doesn't have to put any effort into holding a form, only to change it. –  Allen Gould Jun 29 '11 at 19:05
    
Stances don't have a sustain entry, but specifically say that you lose the stance when you fall unconscious. –  GMNoob Jun 30 '11 at 10:41
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.