Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Should be an easy question: if you use a versatile weapon with two hands, it adds +1 to damage. Does it work like Brutal, where it is dependent on the number of dice, or is it a straight +1?

In other words, if I use a versatile weapon two-handed and do 2[W], is it +1 or +2 for weapon damage?

share|improve this question
Brutal and related effects are very unusual; they aren't good models for understanding the rest of 4e. – jprete Jul 6 '11 at 21:52
Is Brutal even intended to work that way, or is it more of a "how else can we describe this" sort of side-affect? – GMNoob Jul 7 '11 at 16:52
up vote 11 down vote accepted

A versatile weapon grants an untyped +1 bonus to damage when used two-handed. It's not +1 per die.

share|improve this answer
Good point. I always thought it should be a +1 per die but effectively it is not so. In my opinion this rule was designed to be an approximation (a simpler and quicker way than increasing the weapon damage die) so that, for example, a 1d8 longsword [1-8] wielded with both hands [2-9] is - on average - more similar to a 1d10 weapon [1-10]. – Erik Burigo Jul 7 '11 at 7:18

I believe like a feat bonus, magic weapon bonus or any other type of bonus it is applied only once. The [W] only refers to the specific die of that weapon, not to any modifiers that apply.

Modifiers are always applied once, brutal applies to each die of damage.

share|improve this answer
Added clarification -- Brutal increases effectiveness because the more dice you roll, the greater the chance that one of them is equal or under the Brutal score. – bryanjonker Jul 6 '11 at 17:45
@bryan - edited accordingly. – wax eagle Jul 6 '11 at 17:46

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.