Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

For the Vital Strike feat in Pathfinder, are other bonuses such as enhancement or sacred bonuses to damage applied when rolling the extra damage dice?

From the Pathfinder SRD.

Vital Strike (Combat)

You make a single attack that deals significantly more damage than normal.

Prerequisites: Base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon’s damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together before adding bonuses from Strength, weapon abilities (such as flaming), precision-based damage, and other damage bonuses. These extra weapon damage dice are not multiplied on a critical hit, but are added to the total.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/combat-feats/vital-strike-combat---final

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 10 down vote accepted

No, you only roll the damage dice of the weapon twice, not any of the modifiers.

This has been cleared up by Jason, and reproduced on the d20pfsrd.com FAQ:

Q: The text of this feat stipulates that the Vital Strike does not multiply Strength damage, weapon ability damage, or precision damage. Are other damage bonuses (those not mentioned, such as those from Weapon Specialization, enhancement bonuses, or the Bard's inspire courage ability) are, in fact, multiplied on a hit? I'm not sure if that's what is intended, though--the wording sounds like it could just be saying, "No damage bonuses, such as X, Y, and Z, are multiplied on a hit. "

A: (Jason Bulmahn) The way to think about it is this: roll the damage dice only twice.

And

Q: So at 6th level and using a longsword +2 and 16 Str and power attacking (-2 to hit, +4 damage) using the Vital Strike feat would it be 2d8, +2 for the sword bonus, +4 for PA, and +3 for Str or 2d8 +4 for the sword bonus, +8 for PA and +3 for Str? And then what would the above damage be if a critical hit was rolled?

A: (Jason Bulmahn) The way to think about it is this. . roll the damage dice only twice. Everything else is as per normal. If you crit, add the crit damage normally and then roll the base dice for the weapon again and add them all together. So, in your example, the character would roll 1d8+5 attacking normally, 1d8+9 if using Power Attack, and 2d8+9 if using Power Attack and Vital Strike. On a critical hit you would roll 3d8+10 if attacking normally, 3d8+18 if using Power Attack

share|improve this answer
1  
The way I think about Vital Strike is: resolve the attack and damage normally, then add a weapon-die worth of damage. –  Erik Burigo Jul 8 '11 at 7:04
    
@Erik Burigo - That works too. –  Cthos Jul 8 '11 at 15:13
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.