Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The feat Leadership has changed considerably since 3.X days and has brought up a few debates at my table.

The specific debate is not over cohorts, but over followers. Let's say my level 7 Pathfinder Cleric has a leadership score of 12, this means he gains a cohort of level 5 and 8 level 1 followers with a PC class. If my Cleric were to arm his followers with weapons, take them into battle, and they all died, would he be able to gain more followers (after figuring in the -1 to his score for having followers killed under him)?

So, my question is this: If your followers die, are you able to gain more, or do you have to wait until either you level or your leadership score increases?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 13 down vote accepted

My interpretation of the rules would be that the player can recruit more followers at the next opportunity, though they wouldn't magically appear. The rule only references the table for "acquire more followers" presumably in contrast with the number you previously had.

As a DM I would say:

  • Your leadership score is reduced by one for loss of previous followers (unless the loss was suitably epic).
  • You can recruit more followers as soon as you are able to spend a reasonable amount of time in a reasonably populous area.
share|improve this answer
2  
That's pretty much what I was thinking. You can recruit new cohorts, so no reason you couldn't recruit more followers. It is nice to note that you only ever get a -1 if followers die (unlike the cumulative cohort negative upon death..) –  GPierce Jul 10 '11 at 1:07

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.