Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Stormwarden:

Blade Storm (11th level): As long as you are armed with a melee weapon and are capable of making an opportunity attack, one adjacent enemy (your choice) takes damage equal to your Dexterity modifier at the end of your turn.

Twin-Blade Storm (16th level): As long as you are armed with a melee weapon and are capable of making an opportunity attack, two adjacent enemies (your choice) take lightning damage equal to your Dexterity modifier at the end of your turn.

These are different features and do not consume opportunity attacks (and in fact, cannot, as they occur on the player's turn.)

Does this mean that one adjacent enemy takes 2*Dex damage every round?

share|improve this question
    
This says yes: community.wizards.com/wiki/Dnd:Char_op_-_QnA_compilation: If someone wants to work it up into a full fledged answer with argumentation? (I do dislike self-answers...) –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Jul 10 '11 at 10:27
    
I must admit, I don't understand the skill text at all. What does "capable of making an opportunity attack" mean when its your turn? When will that condition not be met? Opportunity attacks can only happen when its not your turn. –  GMNoob Jul 11 '11 at 5:59
2  
@GMNoob. If a creature is Dazed or Stunned she cannot take immediate or opportunity actions (or no actions at all in the latter case). These conditions prevent the cited stormwarden features to deal automatic damage to adjacent creatures at the end of her turn. –  Erik Burigo Jul 11 '11 at 7:00
    
@Brian I disliked self-answers at first too, but reading this changed my mind. –  dpatchery Jul 11 '11 at 14:59
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 6 down vote accepted

While similarly named and similar in feature and function, Blade Storm and Twin-Blade Storm are different features.

Since Twin-Blade Storm does not say something along the lines of "your Blade Storm now affects two adjacent enemies" we must assume that they are separate effects.

So:

Your turn ends and you and three of your enemies meet the required conditions.

You may damage one of them with Blade Storm

You may damage two of them with Twin-Blade Storm, one of whom may be the enemy damaged with Blade Storm

share|improve this answer
    
+1 There are a lot of places where features are phrased like this, and I assume it's intentional, because there are plenty of other places where features are phrased the other way ("feature X now does Y"). –  jprete Jul 10 '11 at 21:49
    
+1. Totally agree. –  Erik Burigo Jul 11 '11 at 7:02
add comment

Hmmm... well the normal thing is that same source cannot trigger twice at the same time. But in this case, it doesen't say it upgrades the previous one. But looking at it now, 1 says its regular damage and 1 says its lightning damage. So from that logic, yes, its possible that you can have one adjacent enemy take the dex modifier damage twice, but the first dex damage would be normal while the second dex modifier would be lightning damage (thus, if there is resistance to lightning, they may take reduction or no damage at all for that part).

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.