Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Eladrin have a +5 racial bonus to saving throws against charm effects.

The Circlet of Revelation head slot item grants the following:

Property: While you have an eladrin ally within 10 squares of you, you gain a +5 item bonus to saving throws against charm effects.

Normally item bonuses and racial bonuses stack, but from a "I-think-too-much" standpoint it seems to not make sense in this case. The circlet lets you pick up the other racial traits of your party members. I wouldn't think you'd gain the racial benefit of your same race twice.

Do two Eladrin both wearing a Circlet of Revelation get +10 to saving throws against charm effects?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 14 down vote accepted

Yes they do. Even though they are allowing others to use their racial bonuses, it is still classified as an Item bonus and therefore it stacks with the Racial bonus. It does indeed allow you to use your racial bonus twice.

share|improve this answer
3  
Its a good question, and its a bit counter intuitive, but RAW this is the answer. –  wax eagle Jul 21 '11 at 13:58
    
Agree. RAW it is how it works, though I'd probably houserule that a property you already possess would not be transferred. –  Cthos Jul 21 '11 at 14:38
1  
@cthos: I assume if they wanted to prevent this they could have written, or released errata, that the bonuses are racial. Probably not a big priority, though. –  jprete Jul 22 '11 at 2:57
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.