Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

A lot of the Arcane Backgrounds something happens on a roll of '1' on your Spellcasting die. I originally read this to mean that only if your total was a natural '1', i.e. your first roll was a natural '1' then the bad stuff happens.

I heard that at least one other referee takes this to mean, a '1' even if you rolled it on an Ace. For example, say you have Spellcasting d8 and you rolled 8,8,1 then yes you get a success and 3 raises but you also get a backlash.

Is this how it is meant to be?

share|improve this question
    
@wax_eagle: thanks – David Allan Finch Jul 21 '11 at 14:54
up vote 11 down vote accepted

My understanding is that this only applies if it is a natural 1 on the spell casting die. I don't think it would be classed as 'natural' if the die has aced.

share|improve this answer
    
Clint Black agrees with your answer, peginc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=324082#324082 hence your answer is blessed as the correct one ;) – David Allan Finch Jul 26 '11 at 16:07

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.