Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm trying to create a character with an online character sheet from google docs and the calculations are coming up unexpectedly. I suspect there is an error in the formula, so I want to make sure I understand the character creation rules.

For a 3rd level Sorcerer with a CHA of 19 they will know: 6 - 0 Level Spells; 3 1st Level Spells (7 per day); 1 - 2nd Level Spell (4 per day)? This is what the semi-auto calcing sheet came up with.

Is that correct?

share|improve this question
up vote 10 down vote accepted

According to the Pathfinder Core Rule Book:

On page 17 (Table 1-3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells) a Charisma of 19 would give a +4 modifier to CHA and 1 extra bonus spell for 1st-Level spells.

In addition to this, on page 72 (Table 3-14: Sorcerer) a 3rd level Sorcerer only can cast 5 1st-level spells per day. Your Charisma score bonus spells would be added on here, allowing you to cast your selected 1st-level spells 6 times per day.

And finally, on page 73 (Table 3-15: Sorcerer Spells Known), a 3rd level Sorcerer would only know 5 0-level spells and 3 1st-level spells.

So, to answer your question, your 3rd level Sorcerer would have the following:

0-Level Spells: 5 known, Unlimited times per day

1st-Level Spells: 3 known, 6 times per day

This is without your Bloodline bonus spell at 3rd level. Including that you would have the following:

0-Level Spells: 5 known, Unlimited times per day

1st-Level Spells: 4 known, 6 times per day

share|improve this answer
That's what I thought. So the Google Docs character sheet is calculating too high. Probably what a Wizard would get instead of a Sorcerer. Thank you. – Jeffrywith1e Jul 23 '11 at 6:01
Yeah, it's overpowering your L3 Sorcerer quite a bit (for example, you don't get access to level 2 spells until you are 4th level!) Glad I could help :-) – Sorcerer Blob Jul 23 '11 at 6:35
Check for the new version: 11-14-2011 Version 1.5.4 Fixed a bug with the sorcerer spell calculations. – SeanC Jul 6 '12 at 15:10

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.