Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Coming from 3.5 to Pathfinder has been interesting in that while it was an update to 3.X, some of the mechanics have changed. An example of this is a PF Rogue's Sneak Attack.

In 3.5 a Rogue could not sneak attack an undead creature. It made for some boring battles for the party Rogue in an undead-heavy campaign or session. Pathfinder seemingly has changed this under the Sneak Attack rules (page 68 PFCR) in that, "The rogue’s attack deals extra damage anytime her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target." There is no mention in the Pathfinder rules if Rogues are still unable to Sneak Attack an undead opponent.

So, can a Pathfinder Rogue add their Sneak Attack damage into their attack on an undead opponent?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 16 down vote accepted

Yes, a rogue gets sneak attack against undead in Pathfinder. Undead are not immune to precision damage as they were in 3.5. One can check the d20pfsrd.com where the rogue section lists an FYI in the sidebar that notes this:

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/rogue#TOC-Sneak-Attack

share|improve this answer
    
Awesome! Do you know, by chance, where in the PFCR this is listed? –  GPierce Jul 24 '11 at 4:55
1  
@GPierce I don't know, but it is in the Conversion Guide PDF that Paizo has available for free download on their site (download required). –  C. Ross Jul 24 '11 at 11:25
    
@CRoss That's good enough for me. I was looking for an official ruling that was a little more legit than the SRD. –  GPierce Jul 24 '11 at 15:23
2  
It's also worth nothing that monsters will tell you if they're immune to precision damage. As for finding the rule in a core rulebook it's scattered around, but you can find it in the Bestiary, in the back with the creature type/subtype descriptions. –  Cthos Jul 25 '11 at 14:43
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.