Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I've seen that with skills with a +x bonus, it applies to both the skill die and the wild die. How about if you have an untrained skill at d4-2. Does the -2 also apply to your wild die?

share|improve this question
up vote 15 down vote accepted

Yes. Savage Worlds,

  • Revised Edition, Page 57
  • Explorer Edition, Page 56
  • Deluxe Edition, Page 63.

Wild Card characters still get their Wild Die for these rolls (which are also subject to the -2 penalty).

share|improve this answer
Thanks! With all the definite, conflicting answers around the table, I'd come to assume it wasn't in the rule book. – Hand-E-Food Jul 31 '11 at 2:54
Glad to be of help. – David Allan Finch Aug 1 '11 at 7:22
+1 for thoroughness. – sergut Jul 2 '13 at 18:01

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.