Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

You get a +1 to Parry using a Rapier. If you hold a Rapier in your Off Hand do you still get the +1 to Parry?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 11 down vote accepted

Yes, it does

The only penalty from using a rapier in your off hand is that you can't use that hand for something else. The +1 parry still applies. Source: Official Rules Forum

Also, I second @aramis as another former SCA fencer. Makes total sense.

share|improve this answer
add comment

You probably should. It's not significantly harder in Real Life to parry with the off hand rapier than it is with the good hand.

(I was for 10 years a SCA Rapier fencer. Hope to be again.)

share|improve this answer
    
But there are so many more interesting things you can use in your off hand in SCA fencing ... –  C. Ross Aug 3 '11 at 12:32
    
But they still don't allow Off-hand opponent... –  aramis Aug 4 '11 at 6:45
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.