Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can Powers be used for Suppressive Fire? For example, can you cast a Bolt Power to do Suppressive Fire on an area?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 11 down vote accepted

The question in the title is a little different than the question in the body. As a result, I'll answer both.

Can powers do Suppressive Fire?

Sure, if the description of that power allows it.

Can the Bolt Power do Suppressive Fire?

No, not as written in the core rules. A GM would probably be more than willing to work with a PC who wanted to create a version of Bolt that did that, but the core power does not.

share|improve this answer
3  
+1. The suppressive fire manoeuver requires an automatic weapon. The Bolt power doesn't qualify, but it would be possible to create a power (or a variation for Bolt like the existing "additional bolts" and "additional damage" variations) that did. –  SevenSidedDie Aug 3 '11 at 17:56
    
Sorry, I meant the question as an example. If you add the part about /Automatic Weapons/ that d7 suggested, they your answer is completely correct ;) –  David Allan Finch Aug 4 '11 at 7:50
    
@SevenSidedDie thanks. –  David Allan Finch Aug 4 '11 at 7:51

If a player wanted to use bolt for suppressive fire then I would probably do it as a trapping. As it makes the power a lot more powerful, it would probably be necessary to introduce some kind of down side to it (can't think of one off hand atm).

share|improve this answer
1  
The down side could simply be that the full-auto use has no "off switch", so you can't do (cheaper) single-shot attacks. –  SevenSidedDie May 1 '13 at 19:25

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.