Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This is a follow up question relating to What are the advantages and disadvantages of allowing a player to play a large creature?

So far, everything for the player playing the large Minotaur has been balanced. If anything, not being able to move between enemies that had a one square gap between them has shown that the character is actually weaker than a medium sized Defender.

So here's what happened:

The party's rogue ran into a room by himself, jump on a 10x25 foot table, and hit an enemy that was eating. Enemies that had been hiding rushed him from all corners (The players had been very noisy in the previous room). He was surrounded and in one enemy round he was unconscious.

The Minotaur fighter decided to Squeeze to move into the same square as the prone rogue.

After fighting (at a -5 penalty to hit because of the Squeeze) he decided to stop squeezing and push the enemies off the table.

Fortunately, he hadn't only decided to stop using Squeeze, but he had also decided to Jump and smash the table with malicious intent.

We ruled that he broke the table in half and sent one of the enemies flying into the wall after they failed their acrobatics check. This gave the Minotaur space to land at full size to continue fighting the enemies.

Had he not had a table to break, how would a large creature that is being flanked by four enemies that stops using Squeeze work?

We talked about it after, and because he's 10 feet tall and weighs 850 pounds we decided that if he did it again they would all get an attack of opportunity on a successful acrobatics check or be moved one square.

How should this actually go?

share|improve this question
    
Without looking at the rules/mechanics on this I'd say that that seems like a pretty fair house rule. –  GPierce Aug 8 '11 at 20:15

1 Answer 1

up vote 2 down vote accepted

By the book, you cannot stop squeezing if doing so would result in an illegal position (i.e. within an enemy's square, or protruding through a wall).

Allowing it as a cinematic effect seems reasonable to me, but beware of allowing it to be incorporated into the character's standard repertoire; it's effectively a free push 1 centered around the character's space. Taking an attack of opportunity may be harsh enough to balance it, but hazardous terrain and AoEs may make it more powerful than it initially seems.

Some questions to consider:

  • What happens if the minotaur would push an enemy off of a cliff, but they make their save?

  • How does this interact with the dwarven ability to mitigate pushes?

share|improve this answer
1  
I suppose that if an enemy is forced to move but cannot, or they save from being forced to move and cannot, the Minotaur would be forced to continue using Squeeze and would take an attack of opportunity. With the house rule as-is, they would simply fall off the cliff. –  Kalamane Aug 8 '11 at 21:45
    
@Kalamane The ability to knock something off a cliff without a save seems... Really powerful. As with any house rule though, whether or not it's over-powered depends on your players and DM. –  AceCalhoon Aug 8 '11 at 22:24
    
@ Ace My comment wasn't clear, what I meant the first line to say was "I suppose that if an enemy is forced to move but cannot, or they save from being forced to move, the Minotaur..." I agree that as-is the house rule is too powerful. Hence me asking this question. –  Kalamane Aug 8 '11 at 22:32
    
@Kalamane Ahh, I see. I would say that's more reasonable. My confusion was with the sentence beginning with "with the house rule as-is". –  AceCalhoon Aug 8 '11 at 22:50
    
@Kalamane - I would think this would provide an attack of opportunity for anyone who would have to move out anyway. –  Chad Aug 9 '11 at 16:12

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.