Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm currently playing an epic level barbarian. I have a number of abilities that allow me to attack as a free action after I critically hit someone. I've even gone to the length of making a flow chart in order to reduce the time my turn takes when I critically hit.

The question I have, is if I critically hit on one of the free attacks granted from my critical hit, do I then get to start my flow chart over again?

Many of the abilities are gained from my paragon, class, and epic destinies. They do not require minor actions, and many of them don't specify if they take an action at all.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Assuming that there are no other criteria on the attacks, and that the power haven't been errataed, yes.

Common restrictions:

  • Extra attack is an immediate action (no more than once per full round, not on your turn).

  • Extra attack is an opportunity action (no more than once per combatant's turn, not on your turn).

  • Extra attack is a free action (no more than one free action attack per round).

  • Extra attack triggers only on specific types of attacks (e.g. Barbarian powers, or basic attacks) (only triggers for the appropriate type of attack).

share|improve this answer
    
Something I haven't been looking at is the critical strike with a barbarian power. A melee attack granted by a barbarian ability isn't strictly a barbarian power. Thank you. –  Quickhorn Aug 23 '10 at 21:35
4  
Nitpick -- you can only use one free action attack per round, so a lot of the old barbarian chaining effects are no more. This is as of the May errata, I believe. –  Bryant Aug 23 '10 at 21:47
add comment

No.

You can only use a free action to attack once per round; from the Player's Handbook Update PDF (pg 19):

Free Actions Page 267: Replace the “Free Actions” bullet in the “The Main Action Types” section with the following text. This update limits the power of builds that capitalize on recursive attack power combinations.

✦ Free Action: Free actions take almost no time or effort. You can take as many free actions as you want during your or another combatant’s turn. There is an exception to that rule: A creature can take a free action to use an attack power only once per turn. ...

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.