Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When deflect arrows is used it says you take no damage from it. If a thrown AOE weapon (Such as a flask of acid or an Alchemist bomb) is thrown at a target with deflect arrows, what happens to the thrown weapon? Does it vanish and do nothing? Does it scatter and still perform AOE damage and ignore the deflecting target? Does it do something else?

share|improve this question

3 Answers 3

up vote 9 down vote accepted

As Pathfinder has a basis largely in simulation, I rule in this case (I have a monk PC in my game and it's come up) that he can deflect the full effect of the weapon but still takes any splash damage.

share|improve this answer
    
Same in mine. This isn't that unusual of an edge case, especially in Alchemy heavy games. –  C. Ross Aug 22 '11 at 12:31

For my game I rule that the player is allowed to deflect an AOE weapon. They get to role a reflex save against the attack role that was used to hit them. If they succeed they can choose which direction they deflected the attack to; if they fail it gets randomly deflected (d8 roll for direction).

I then have the attack hit the square that it was deflected too, and then figure out splash damage from there. If there's a creature in the deflected square I use the original attack roll to see if it hits that creature.

This can lead to some interesting strategies. One game saw our monk deflecting a flaming oil onto a summoned fire elemental in order to heal it from the fire damage.

share|improve this answer

By RAW, a character hit with a splash weapon also receives the splash damage.

[...] A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target. [...]

The target is, in fact, a creature within 5 ft. of itself.

However, a character using the Deflect Arrows feat, explicitly receives no damage from the ranged attack. The feat does not force the attack to miss: it simply negates the damage. In fact, the splash weapon doesn't misfire and it still deal splash damage to adjacent creatures.


That said, what @mxyzplk wrote:

Pathfinder has a basis largely in simulation

stands true, and I'd take no offense nor scandal from house ruling that a deflected alchemist's fire still deals splash damage to its target.

share|improve this answer
    
-1 for now. That's not how it works. The creature hit only takes direct hit damage. "When you hit a target with a splash weapon, the contents sprays out over the target and everything within 5 feet of that target. The target struck takes damage for a direct hit; other targets take splash damage. The splash weapon's direct and splash damage ratings are given in the weapon's description." wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070717a –  Cthos Aug 31 '11 at 18:15
    
And yes, that's a post about 3.5, but the rule is the same for Pathfinder. –  Cthos Aug 31 '11 at 18:16
1  
@Cthos, Skip Williams is adding personal interpretation to the RAW. The word "other" in "other targets take splash damage" is in addition to what the Player's Handbook states... even if this interpretation is probably RAI. –  Erik Burigo Aug 31 '11 at 19:05
    
But you're also interpreting that something is within 5ft of itself (and by correlation included in creatures), which I do not believe is possible, as written. And given that Skip Williams was one of the contributors to the PHB, I'd say that is in fact not how it works. –  Cthos Aug 31 '11 at 19:22
    
I really fell within 5 ft. from myself :) –  Erik Burigo Aug 31 '11 at 19:25

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.