Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We've seen a few powers that make a creature insubstantial now, but we haven't been able to find out what it means. What does it mean and where can we get a clear definition?

share|improve this question
1  
On the off-chance that you were looking for a real-world rather than D&D definition, "insubstantial" means "lacking substance", i.e. without material presence, ethereal. –  DJClayworth Aug 23 '11 at 3:00
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 16 down vote accepted

Rules for Insubstantial can be found on page 277 of the 4th Edition Player's Handbook.

The short version is that insubstantial creatures take half damage.

share|improve this answer
2  
+1: The long version precises that it takes half damage from ongoing damage too. :) –  Erik Burigo Aug 31 '11 at 12:38
add comment

In 2nd edition you became 'insubstantial' because of a spell like ectoplasmic form, which turned you incorporeal or 'not real' in a way. So the effect in 4e (like Ectoplasmic Armor for example), similiar, in that you take half damage. In earlier editions you couldn't be hurt except by +1 or magical weapons, or by spells, when incorporeal.

share|improve this answer
2  
The question is about 4e. While interesting, the info about previous editions is not related to how it works in the given context and should be removed. –  Zachiel Feb 15 '13 at 19:58
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.