Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Last night, some people thought that the Grappled condition should make a character vulnerable to sneak attack, but my reading of Grappled was that it imposed a dexterity penalty, but does not deny the entire dexterity bonus. Would this allow Sneak Attack, and is there any related condition that does?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

While the grappled-condition does not make the character vulnerable to Sneak attacks, the pinned-condition states, that the character is flatflooted (Core Rulebook page 568). If you are grappling another character and take a standard action to maintain the grapple (and succeed), you can pin your opponent (CRB pg. 200). So your party will need another round to pin the opponent, but then sneak attack would work.

share|improve this answer
This is due to a rules change from 3.5 to Pathfinder. In 3.5, the Grappled condition DOES make you denied Dex to AC, instead of giving a Dex penalty - therefore in 3.5 you could sneak attack someone grappled (or grappling); but, in Pathfinder, you cannot. – RMorrisey Aug 25 '11 at 2:14
Pathfinder made being grappled much less of a "you lose" condition. – Bobson Aug 26 '11 at 15:29

It's very easy to flank a grappled creature, which would provide sneak attack, but the grappled condition itself doesn't grant it. A grappled creature does not threaten any area, so you can move around them freely, and is guaranteed to be adjacent to an ally (because you move them into an adjacent space when you grapple). Thus it becomes trivial to flank with the grappler (who also has no threatened area, except that they do threaten the one they're grappling with) and go to town.

share|improve this answer
Subtle difference. If they have a 1 handed weapon, they do technically "Threaten" but they can't take attacks of opportunity. – Cthos Aug 26 '11 at 15:52

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.