Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm not extremely expert in the fourth edition, nor do I have constant access to the books, so I ask: overwhelming strike allows me to, on a hit, shift one square and then slide the target into the square I left, so, that being the case, could I swap places with the target?

Another way to ask that would be, can I simultaneously enter a square as an enemy leaves it?

share|improve this question
Welcome to the site! Good question. We're glad to help edit even the most sleep-depped of posts :) – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Aug 27 '11 at 0:07
up vote 9 down vote accepted

No, movement does not happen simultaneously.

Unfortunately, overwhelming strike is written such that:

Hit: 1[W] + Wisdom modifier damage. You shift 1 square and slide the target 1 square into the space you occupied.

You initiate a shift. Because the shift does not state "even into the enemy's square" it follows the normal rules of a shift:

SHIFT: MOVE ACTION Movement: Move 1 square.

which follows the normal rules of movement, save for the not-provoking elements.

Creatures occupy squares. Given that there are specific powers, (King's Castle, Rogue Encounter 1: Effect: Switch places with a willing adjacent ally.) which state "switch places", the general "slide 1" is not overridden by the "and slide enemy into the space you occupied."

share|improve this answer
Oh, I see the logic now, thank you! :) – Korrozive Aug 27 '11 at 0:50
My pleasure, mate. It's a bit fiddly. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Aug 27 '11 at 1:51

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.