Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

An Oracle with the haunted curse wants to use a bow (and is proficient with it). Does the act of drawing an arrow require the character to draw an arrow as a standard action?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

No, Provided you're drawing it from a quiver


Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a standard action, unless it would normally take longer.

When it is talking about stored gear, it's referring to things in your pack, like potions/books/torches/bedroll/whatever. "Retrieve a stored item" is usually a move action that provokes an AoO, and the Haunted curse makes it worse.

Further, Drawing/Nocking an arrow is covered by another action type:

Drawing an arrow (from the combat section):

Not an Action

Some activities are so minor that they are not even considered free actions. They literally don't take any time at all to do and are considered an inherent part of doing something else, such as nocking an arrow as part of an attack with a bow.

share|improve this answer
Thanks, solid answer and you managed to answer it after the game started, but before first combat. – MadMAxJr Aug 27 '11 at 1:55
Glad I could help! – Cthos Aug 27 '11 at 2:16

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.