Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Divine Bolts as modified by Power Of Skill:

You can use any power you have that is associated with this feat as a basic attack.

Is treated as a basic attack, and because it's ranged, is treated as a ranged basic attack.

The paragon feat: Staff of Channeled Invocations:

Benefit: When you use any ranged invoker attack power through a staff, you can use the power as a melee attack with a range of 1.

Does this channeled divine bolts then count as a melee basic attack?

share|improve this question
You like that divine bolts, no?… – Simon Withers Sep 2 '11 at 2:10
It's a very useful power :) I really love the invoker at-wills and really hate the rest of the class. Which... is annoying. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Sep 2 '11 at 3:18
Could we think the other way around? That is: The Staff allow us to use Dive Bolts as a melee 1 attack. Then, Power of Skill allow us to treat the power associated power (now a melee attack) as a basic melee attack. – Erik Burigo Sep 2 '11 at 9:46
oooh, that's a good interpretation. post that as an answer. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Sep 2 '11 at 9:58
up vote 9 down vote accepted

We could face the question the other way around.

The Staff of Channeled Invocations allows us to use Divine Bolts as a melee 1 attack.
Then, Power of Skill allows us to treat the associated power (now a melee attack) as a basic melee attack.

share|improve this answer

This boils down to: Is a "melee, basic attack" a "Melee Basic Attack"

As written, there is a tiny amount of wiggle room to say no, but it's pretty hard for me to read that as anything other than you've managed to make divine bolts usable as a melee basic attack.

share|improve this answer
And you make your Warlord happy when you melee basic against 1 or 2 enemies :) – Simon Withers Sep 2 '11 at 2:24
Eeeh, it's actually quite hard to set up such that the targetting of the calling power doesn't override the fiddly bits. I'm just thinking about the bladesinger. Mind you, that's a fairly stupid feat investment... – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Sep 2 '11 at 3:20
@Brian - I see what you mean - most of the Warlords basic attack granting powers specify the target of the basic attack. – Simon Withers Sep 2 '11 at 3:50

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.