Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Eighth Seal has a level 24 ability:

The Mind's Shining Corridors (24th level): ...

In addition, when you are subjected to an effect that dazes, dominates, or stuns you that a save can end, you can make a saving throw against that effect a the start of your next turn. If you save, the effect ends on you.

If the first start of turn save is failed, can the eighth seal save again at the start of her next turn?

share|improve this question
I'd probably argue that no, it doesn't since the triggering condition is "when you are subjected". But I don't know enough about 4e to commit to that. – Cthos Sep 3 '11 at 16:41
What does 'first start of turn save' mean? Don't you normally save at the end of your turn? – GMNoob Sep 4 '11 at 6:15
up vote 3 down vote accepted

The question seems to come down to do we interpret "when you are subjected to..." as meaning "while you are subjected to" or "when you become subjected to"

Typically I've been reading "when you are..." as "when you become..."

So, No, the save at the beginning of your turn happens only on the first start of your next turn.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.