Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

A while back I was browsing the old (downloadable) dnd4e character generator, and I found an item called Augmenting Whetstone. When used as a minor action, it grants your weapon "a +2 enhancement bonus on attack rolls and damage rolls until the end of the encounter." I thought this was an awesome consumable for 75g and bought a bunch of them to use on my Magic Battleaxe +3.

After closer inspection, I noticed that it adds an "enhancement bonus" and I wondered if maybe that bonus doesn't stack with a magical item's enhancement. Anyone know the exact ruling on this?

TL;DR- Does Augmenting Whetstone work on Magic Battleaxe +3?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Bonuses of the same type don't stack, so it won't do anything for your +3 battleaxe, since the +3 is an enhancement bonus.

(Bonuses that have no type at all - i.e. a +2 bonus - stack with everything.)

EDIT: Note that there is no difference between bonuses based on the source. If you are making a roll or calculating a value, bonuses of type X don't ever stack, no matter what they are attached to.

share|improve this answer
Thanks jprete. That's what I thought, but I wasn't sure if the stacking rules applied to items as well as characters. – Jason White Sep 12 '11 at 3:27
There's no difference, actually. If you had a separate enhancement bonus, it still wouldn't stack with the whetstone or +3 axe. – jprete Sep 12 '11 at 12:28
The axe doesn't have a +3 enhancement bonus to attack & damage rolls, it grants your character a +3 enhancement bonus to attack & damage rolls when used. – adamjford Sep 12 '11 at 20:23
@adamjford: A good point, which makes it clearer how bonuses on magic items actually function. – jprete Sep 12 '11 at 20:35

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.