Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Let me clarify this question as much as possible because this will be somewhat of a 3-parter question.
The Bladesinger's Arcane Strike level 3 class feature says:

When you use a bladesinger daily attack power on your turn, you may make a melee basic attack as a minor action.

So how I understand it is "You can make 1 melee basic attack as a minor action on your turn when you cast 1 daily attack power."

This would be a correct assumption, right?

So the other question becomes:
If I fire a bladesinger daily power, then make a melee basic attack as a minor action and haven't used my move action, then if I action point and fire a second daily attack power, would I be able to turn my move to a minor action and use it to do a melee basic attack a second time?

Finally, taking into the account above of whatever answer, what if I fire a bladesinger daily power and then action point and fire another bladesinger daily power? Would I get only 1 melee basic attack as a minor action due to never using my melee basic between the daily powers or could I do 2 melee basic attacks as a minor action each (assuming both was after the 2 daily attacks)?

share|improve this question
3  
bladesinger is not an essentials charachter :) –  GMNoob Sep 13 '11 at 6:45
    
I don't know. It kinda functions as such depending on how you look at it. Melee basic as its main thing with gaining special features at higher levels or changes/additions to the current ones. –  zapoqx Sep 13 '11 at 7:34
    
Thats just the way 4e is going in general I believe. They don't list the book under essentials when you filter –  GMNoob Sep 13 '11 at 8:21
    
Well technically, the book is a campaign setting like Forgotten Realms or Eberron, just the player's guide and the DM guide kinda rolled into one. But ya, I understand your point. –  zapoqx Sep 13 '11 at 20:20
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 1 down vote accepted

First answer. Yes, you can convert your move into a minor and do a basic attack twice. Assuming the rules you have given are all the relevant ones.

Second answer. No, if you don't do the minor action directly after completing the daily, I believe you loose the opportunity to do so later. The key word here is 'when' instead of 'after'

share|improve this answer
    
Wow. Oops on my part. I obviously didn't read what I wrote more thoroughly even though it made sense in my head. What I meant to say at the end is: "Would I get only 1 melee basic attack as a minor action due to never using my melee basic between the daily powers or could I do 2 melee basic attacks as a minor action each (assuming both was after the 2 daily attacks)?" I'll update the post. Although, if I'm right based on your answer, it would be a yes then, right? –  zapoqx Sep 13 '11 at 7:39
    
Thanks for editing the post. Ok, so this clears up about everything that I needed for the class. –  zapoqx Sep 13 '11 at 20:21
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.