Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The numbers 13 through 20 on the Anachronometer are reserved for being filled in by the Temporal Villain at a pace determined by their TVI. They are grouped in pairs of two and have one box not threatening paradox and one indeed threatening paradox.

Now, it says in the book: "the GM will periodically check off the lowest circle on this end of the Anachronometer".

So, if I – as GM – have checked off the first circle for "19-20", is the next circle I check off the first one in the line "17-18" or is it the second one for "19-20"?

The latter would mean, that already from the second TVI time step on, the temps would always risk paradox! While this would be hilarious, devastating fun for me, I think it might be a bit hard on the temps.

So, how is this supposed to work? Do you risk paradox after 2 or 5 TVI time steps?

share|improve this question
up vote 1 down vote accepted
  • The first TVI tick fills in 19. Nothing happens, other than the temps realizing they're on a timer if they didn't already know.

  • The second TVI tick fills in 20. Now both 19 and 20 threaten paradox, and the GM rolls the paradox dice.

  • Basically, every even tick fills in a dot to the right of the line, which causes a roll and introduces two more numbers that threaten paradox. Every time a new dot gets filled in on the Threatens Paradox side on the anachrometer, the GM rolls for paradox.

Paradox is automatically risked after a paradox die is locked in. The fact that there are numbers threatening paradox isn't sufficient, merely making the chance of a locked paradox die more likely. A paradox die is locked only when the GM rolls the paradox dice and one (or more) of them matches a number that threatens paradox.

share|improve this answer
Ah, thanks. I thought, they would roll every time and ,thusly, was confused about the pace at which things get really bad. – PiHalbe Sep 13 '11 at 20:59
Uh, my follow-up question, because it is not clear to me from the rules text: Do you roll Paradox Dice every time, you fill in a circle to the right of the Anachronometer line? I.e. do you roll upon your fourth "1" in the matrix? – PiHalbe Sep 13 '11 at 21:03
Yes, every time a dot gets filed past the line. I just clarified my answer to reflect that. The temps are pushing their luck every time they pick a result that's already been used twice. – okeefe Sep 13 '11 at 21:40

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.