This question involves the rules that apply to taking a certain action in a specified system.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

6
votes
1answer
301 views

Can I Cleave during an Attack of Opportunity and then attack with a Readied action?

Is this situation possible? I have Cleave I have readied an action to attack Someone on horseback charges me, and provokes an attack of opportunity from me I take the Attack of Opportunity, attack ...
7
votes
4answers
1k views

Can monsters with multiattack take grapple and shove actions?

If lets say... an Owlbear which has the multiattack trait wants to knock someone down and grapple them. Can the owlbear replace the 2 attack actions covered under the multiattack with a grapple and a ...
4
votes
1answer
76 views

Can I Use Sickening Grasp [Reserve Feat] During a Full Attack with a Two-Handed Weapon?

Could a duskblade with vampiric touch as his first third level spell take the reserve feat sickening grasp, full round attack with his two handed weapon, then take a hand off and touch attack with ...
0
votes
0answers
105 views

How, if at all do GMs deal with secret actions? [duplicate]

I am a novice at Role-Playing, in fact I played once or twice, a while back and enjoyed it but never have since. I'm thinking of starting again. My question is this. Suppose you have an evil ...
8
votes
3answers
414 views

What kind of action is used to change aspects in Fate?

If I want to change one aspect into another (for example, throwing a bucket of water on an NPC's head to change "My hair's on fire!" to Drenched), what kind of action is that? Do I use Overcome to ...
4
votes
1answer
216 views

Can my familiar feed me a potion?

The SRD says potions can be administered by others with a full-round action: Drinking a potion or using an oil is a standard action. The potion or oil takes effect immediately. Using a potion or ...
2
votes
1answer
74 views

How does creating sheets of sticky webbing work?

Web (Ex) Web spinners can create sheets of sticky webbing up to three times their size. They usually position these sheets to snare flying creatures but can also try to trap prey on the ground. ...
3
votes
3answers
395 views

Can I cast a spell in the middle of jumping with a Jump spell?

I have not completely read the rules for 5e, and my group has played a decent amount of 4e. We recently started 5e. So my question is, as a Wizard, can I cast the Jump spell on myself one turn, then ...
6
votes
3answers
867 views

A player takes half a standard action, what am I supposed to do?

I've got a problem with how to define half a standard action. The hold portal ritual takes 1 standard action to cast. This is so the player can use it in combat. Now this player wants to create a ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I throw a bonded weapon, summon it to my hand, and throw it again?

Consider an Eldritch Knight that has a bonded thrown weapon. Once he gets extra attack can he or she throw the weapon, use his bonus action to retrieve and then throw it again? Or does that mess too ...
15
votes
1answer
3k views

Can I use a bonus action before my action?

In D&D 5e can I use my bonus action before my action? For example if I wanted to cast Ensnaring Strike before my action to benefit from the bonus immediately. Is this OK, or is a bonus action ...
3
votes
3answers
6k views

Does an Action Surge grant a second bonus action?

We were trying to understand how the "Action Surge" rule works, and after some discussion we came to a standstill. Starting at 2nd level, you can push yourself beyond your normal limits for a ...
2
votes
2answers
771 views

Consequences of a Tumble and Overrun

Page 272 of the DMG states: Overrun When a creature tries to move through a hostile creature's space, the mover can try to force its way through by overrunning the hostile creature ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Can Mage Hand be used on the turn it is cast?

The description for Mage Hand lists a casting time of 1 action. The spell's description elaborates on its function as: You can use your action to control the hand. I would personally interpret ...
5
votes
1answer
184 views

What is the manifesting time for a quickened power?

Quicken Power from 3.5 states that You can perform another action, even manifest another power, in the same round that you manifest a quickened power. But it doesn't state if the manifesting ...
3
votes
2answers
184 views

Can you use an action point while Dazed to take another standard action?

Dazed allows you the use of ONE of your normal actions (standard, move, minor) and the use of free actions. Using an Action Point grants the use of another Standard, move, or minor actions. Can you ...
13
votes
2answers
5k views

Can a character grab a potion from a pack and drink it without using their action?

In the Player's Basic Rules, it says Interacting with objects around you: Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action: ... withdraw a ...
18
votes
1answer
1k views

Are you considered to have a free hand while using a Versatile weapon?

Certain abilities require a free hand to perform: picking up an item or drawing a weapon, casting a spell with a somatic component, using Gloves of Missile Snaring, etc. If you make a two-handed ...
3
votes
1answer
177 views

Do you have to finish one action to start another one?

The question is about action economy. I want to know whether you need to finish a continuous action to start an instant action. I am only interested in RAW answers and combat applications, where you ...
5
votes
1answer
467 views

Is there any limit to how often can you Smite in a round?

I have argued this with my group and we always come to no formal conclusion, as there are valid arguments on each side: In regard to smiting, is there a limit to how many you can perform in a round? ...
19
votes
1answer
2k views

How far does a rogue move when dashing twice using Cunning Action?

A rogue receives a bonus Cunning Action, and one option is to Dash. My understanding is a Dash allows a player to move up to twice his speed for his turn. If a rogue is using a regular action to Dash ...
17
votes
2answers
662 views

Fate Core incongruence in Action's outcomes?

I'm new in Fate, and I'm amazed by the game style and mechanics. Nevertheless, reading the manual, I think I've found 3 mechanical incongruences. Speaking about the Four Actions and their outcomes, ...
3
votes
1answer
807 views

How do the actions work out when sheathing/drawing weapon and then casting a spell?

My character is a Warlock/Fighter with two-weapons fighting speciality. I'm kinda confused with 2 weapons and the spellcasting. All at the same time. So I have the following scenario, please, correct ...
5
votes
5answers
627 views

Can a single attack be a full attack action?

The haste spell grants an extra attack when a character makes a full attack. My DM says: If you do a single attack and can't continue into a full attack, it's a standard attack, even if you ...
2
votes
2answers
234 views

Will quicken spell allow a (ranged) touch attack as part of the swift action?

Quicken spell says that: Casting a quickened spell is a swift action. Some spells, like snowball require a ranged touch attack: You conjure a ball of packed ice and snow that you can throw ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use a Bonus Action on a turn other than your own?

The rules for Bonus Actions state; (PHB pg.189) You can take only one bonus action on your turn... Which to me can be read in two ways. 1. You can only take a bonus action if it is your turn. ...
6
votes
2answers
535 views

Can I use Domain powers on myself?

Some Domain powers are enabling the cleric to touch one creature to give it some boons. Example, from CRB, War Domain: Battle Rage (Sp): You can touch a creature as a standard action to give it a ...
12
votes
3answers
4k views

Touch Spells; Cast, move & attack in one round?

I was re-reading the section in the SRD about touch spells in combat, when I came across this little nugget: SRD says: "Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the ...
4
votes
1answer
969 views

Action economies, two-handed weapons, and spells with Somatic components

This is a follow-on to Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon? So, I have a spell, say Sanctuary, that is cast as a bonus action, yet requires Verbal ...
2
votes
0answers
375 views

How can I attack with two weapons on the same turn? [duplicate]

So I'm a bit lost on how dual wielding works in D&D 5th edition. In chapter 6 of the PHB, page 195, Two-Weapon Fighting is described as below.... When you take the Attack action and attack ...
3
votes
2answers
442 views

Action in Combat , Can I make a full attack with touch attacks for a trigger spell?

Myself and the other characters have 10 levels for templates or monster class and 8 levels for class levels, with Divine Power I gain a bab equal my character level. (18 right?). I cast Shivering ...
7
votes
1answer
4k views

Drawing and sheathing a weapon in 5e, and the actions required

I've seen this question asked about 4e, and I think I've found the passage in the 5e PHB that answers the question, but I'd like to make sure I understand this correctly before I impose it on my game. ...
9
votes
2answers
404 views

What is the sense of a spell/power/effect with Standard Action casting time and only 1 round duration?

This might be a dumb question, but I'm really lost on how some standard action spells / actions are supposed to actually work. If a player takes an standard action that causes some kind of effect, ...
3
votes
4answers
794 views

Can one use a breath weapon and a melee attack in the same turn?

My character is Dragonborn, and has a breath weapon. Making a breath weapon attack is a standard action. I am wondering if I can make a breath weapon and also make one attack with my weapon? I know ...
3
votes
2answers
89 views

Does a Medic's Weapon's action include the extra channel divinity action?

A character with the Channel Divinity class feature will have a set of associated channel divinity powers that may range from free actions to standard actions. They usually may only use one such power ...
4
votes
3answers
305 views

Encounter powers, magic item powers and immediate reactions

Been fooling around with my artificer character, who has Eldritch Fusillade Expertise, which among other things states the following: "Draw or stow a wand and load crossbow as free action." Now a ...
4
votes
2answers
649 views

Unsheathing a weapon from a Handy Haversack

If you have an sheathed weapon in a Handy Haversack that you have within reach (IE tied to your belt), can you both reach for said weapon and unsheath it in a single action? Or does drawing a weapon ...
6
votes
1answer
526 views

Swift action spell scrolls

If a spell has a casting time of one swift action, does a scroll of that spell also take a swift action to activate, or does it still take a standard action?
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Are swift actions allowed during surprise round

I know that normally you are only allowed either a standard or move action during a surprise round. Also you are allowed a free action. The book says nothing about swift actions during the surprise ...
6
votes
1answer
809 views

How Does the underhanded talent work?

I do not understand the rogue talent "Underhanded" from Ultimate Combat. It states that you are able to make a sneak attack for max damage during a surprise round with a hidden weapon. However when I ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

If you perform a standard action can you still attack on the same turn?

Attacking is a standard action I think so you can't do that right? You can do a move and a standard or 2 moves, but not 2 standards as far as I understand it. Looking for confirmation.
6
votes
2answers
747 views

Performing actions while falling

If a character falls from a great height and has a skill or item that may save them if used early enough, how does one determine where in the fall the item is used? Depending on the reason for the ...
2
votes
4answers
581 views

Heart of Water and grappling threats

I have been making a new wizard lately and I have been trying to have many ways of avoiding statuses/effects that easily disable/endanger a caster. As many of you know, one of these is Grapple, and ...
9
votes
3answers
548 views

Can a monk increase his dodge bonus as a swift action out of his turn?

In Pathfinder, a monk has a power which lets him spend a point of his Ki Pool to increase his AC Dodge Bonus as a swift action. Can he do it even when it isn't his turn? a monk can spend 1 point ...
2
votes
1answer
293 views

Is there an action cost for changing facing?

Is there, in canonical D&D 3.5*, a ruling prescribing action (move action, standard action etc.) for changing the facing of a character without changing position, or a ruling specifically saying ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Multiple Standard Actions With High Base Attack Bonus

A friend and myself were having a discussion and we had a small disagreement about a rule. He says that if he has a high base attack bonus, say 20/15/10/5, and has a special ability that is activated ...
3
votes
2answers
816 views

The Swiftblade full round action contradiction

So, I recently read the Swiftblade prestige class on the wizards website. However, one thing there caught my eye: Perpetual Options (Ex): At 9th level, you can perform even more actions with the ...
23
votes
1answer
2k views

What is the difference between “No Action” and “Free Action”?

What is the difference between No Action, e.g. the Monk's Centered Flurry of Blows [ddi], and the more common Free Action?
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Do two standard actions equal a full round action?

If a character was somehow able to get two extra standard actions on their round in combat, could those actions be used as an extra full attack action or full round action? Elaboration: In the first ...
1
vote
1answer
4k views

Opportunity attacks and immediate interupts per round [duplicate]

I read this in an online article, which sounded incorrect to me. The Fighter takes his free attack and gets all the additional bonuses that come with Combat Superiority. Needless to say, my ...