This question involves the rules that apply to taking a certain action in a specified system.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

5
votes
2answers
127 views

Can a greatsword, a bite, and a headbutt all be used during the same full attack?

Could a multiclass fighter/ unchained barbarian use Animal Fury and Steel Headbutt in the same full-attack action? For example: a multiclass Fighter 6 and Unchained Barbarian 6 makes a full-attack ...
8
votes
3answers
226 views

Can you move and act with the Ready action?

I am trying to understand the Find Familiar spell and its interaction with the Ready action. The PHB reads about Ready: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. ...
11
votes
1answer
149 views

What is the procedure for retrieving a flask of oil from a backpack, throwing it, lighting a torch, and then lighting the puddle?

I'm new to Pathfinder and GMing (just have the Beginner Box), and have a couple of questions regarding the following scenario: a PC wanting to throw a flask of oil on the ground at a particular square ...
25
votes
6answers
3k views

Can an unconscious person drink a potion?

PHB 153 reads: Potion of Healing. A character who drinks the magical red fluid in this vial regains 2d4 + 2 hit points. Drinking or administering a potion takes an action. By my ...
6
votes
1answer
148 views

Can I mix ranged and melee attacks in a Full Attack?

I am playing a Zen Archer Monk. I have a question about using my full attack. A monks unarmed strike is defined as At 1st level, a monk gains Improved Unarmed Strike as a bonus feat. A monk's ...
7
votes
1answer
405 views

Can you use a swift action during a full round action?

Are you allowed to use a swift action in the middle of a full round action like full attack? The only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, ...
0
votes
1answer
56 views

Is Refocus an action in 3.5?

Is Refocus still an action in D&D 3.5? In original 3e, it was a full-round action which reset your initiative as though you had rolled a natural 20. However, I can't find that rule on d20srd.com. (...
10
votes
1answer
502 views

Spell Casting Time messed with by Wild Magic?

The Wild Magic result on 27-28 is For the next minute, all your spells with a casting time of 1 action have a casting time of 1 bonus action. Does this mean that you can only cast spells (other ...
9
votes
2answers
374 views

What ends the witch bolt spell?

The obvious things are: ending it voluntarily losing concentration breaking the tether with range or cover using a normal action on your turn for something other than witch bolt What isn't ...
3
votes
1answer
152 views

What's the point of the disarm action? [duplicate]

The Disarm action is designed to knock an object out of the holder's hand and presumably into the holder's space. Because enemies aren't allowed to enter that space, nobody will be able to pick up the ...
6
votes
8answers
3k views

What do you do when there's nothing to do in combat?

There are a lot of situations in D&D combat where characters seem to be left without anything to do that round. For example, a bard out of inspires and without slashing weapons beset by zombies, ...
5
votes
4answers
7k views

Does an Action Surge grant a second bonus action?

We were trying to understand how the "Action Surge" rule works, and after some discussion we came to a standstill. Starting at 2nd level, you can push yourself beyond your normal limits for a ...
1
vote
2answers
76 views

Can a Free Action be taken between Aiming and Attacking without losing the benefits of aiming?

Aiming as a half or full action grants a bonus to the next attack made, and: The next action the Aiming character performs must be an attack (Standard Attack, Semi-Auto Burst, Lightning Attack, ...
4
votes
1answer
219 views

Does a Saber-Toothed Tiger's Pounce grant it an immediate Bite attack?

The Saber-Toothed Tiger's Pounce feature is as follows: Pounce. If the tiger moves at least 20 feet straight toward a creature and then hits it with a claw attack on the same turn, that target ...
1
vote
1answer
49 views

Failing a controlling grapple check, what actions remain?

When you are grappling a creature, and you make the 2nd round check to maintain the grapple, and fail. What actions do you have left? Because if you succeed you have the ability to make a attack which ...
12
votes
2answers
560 views

What are the consequences of making Quicken Spell an exception to the spellcasting action economy?

When I say 'Spellcasting Action Economy' I mean the rules that state when you cast a spell (Cantrip or otherwise) as a bonus action during your turn, the only other spell you can cast that same turn ...
5
votes
3answers
212 views

Can a rider move using his mount, attack from his mount, then the mount dash away in 5e?

I seem to have misunderstood the mounted combat rules. Reading them again it seems that the mount and rider are treated as separate entities but share initiative (this assumes a docile mount, not one ...
18
votes
1answer
17k views

What can I do in one round?

I'm still little confused about actions in Pathfinder. There are standard actions, move actions, full round actions, free actions, etc. I need to know which combinations of these actions I can use in ...
6
votes
2answers
732 views

What's the point of the Legendary Detect action?

Every Ancient Dragon has Detect as a Legendary Action: Detect. The dragon makes a Wisdom (Perception) check. Unless I'm missing something, this seems to be a worthlessly ambiguous action. PHB ...
5
votes
2answers
313 views

How to avoid dropping a wand when grabbing another one

Im working on a character who is going to be using a fair amount of wands. Im going to be using efficient quiver to carry them around, which also lets me grab the one I want easily. Here's the but ...
5
votes
0answers
51 views

Is ending one's turn considered a perceivable circumstance? [duplicate]

The rules for the Ready action are as follows: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or ...
4
votes
3answers
189 views

Combining feats with 2 standard actions in a round

In a Pathfinder campaign me and a friend are Co-DM'ing a campaign and we have a special fight planned for the party if they put in the extra work. They will fight 2, lvl 20, Mythic Tier III characters....
2
votes
4answers
1k views

Sentinel and Multiple Attacks

How does the Sentinel skill work with Extra Attacks? Following this answer about Actions/Reactions etc, it says Reactions are actions that you take out of turn (or possibly on your turn) that ...
5
votes
2answers
715 views

How does casting a cantrip work? Is it different than casting a regular spell?

I am a new DM. I do not understand how casting cantrips is supposed to work. For example: is a wizard able to cast Firebolt as an action and then, because Firebolt is a cantrip, cast it again as a ...
7
votes
3answers
477 views

Can you interpose an Action Surge Dash between two attacks?

If a fighter has Extra Attack giving them two attacks, and they want to use one attack on one creature, and the next attack on a different creature that is farther than they can move using their ...
22
votes
3answers
767 views

What overpowered combinations would be available if I allow a bonus action to be used in place of a standard action?

It has come up in game a couple of times that a player might want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action using their "main" action (if they have another bonus action they also want ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you take a free action during an immediate action?

Scenario 1: Consider a Stalwart Defender with the following Defensive Power: Intercept (Ex): Once a round as an immediate action, when a melee or ranged weapon would successfully strike an ...
17
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use your bonus action to Dash on the same turn as you cast Expeditious Retreat?

Expeditious Retreat uses a bonus action to cast and grants you the ability to take the Dash action as a bonus action for as long as the spell lasts. So, can you use the Dash it grants you when cast ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Wizard/ Monk Shocking Grasp

I'm playing a 5e Wizard/ Monk build. My DM and I are questioning the viability of the cantrip Shocking Grasp. As a monk I can do another unarmed strike as a bonus action after I attack with a melee ...
7
votes
3answers
292 views

How large must a creature be for the “Climb Onto a Bigger Creature” action?

From the DMG: Climb Onto a Bigger Creature If one creature wants to jump onto another creature, it can do so by grappling. A Small or Medium creature has little chance of making a ...
5
votes
1answer
184 views

What actions/bonus actions/reactions can a character perform out of combat?

DnD 5e has a fairly clear set of rules governing a player's possible Actions in Combat, and in other fast-paced situations a GM may break time into rounds. Among the listed actions, some would seem to ...
4
votes
2answers
102 views

Can you retrieve a potion while grappling?

The Rules Compedium explicitly limits the options while grappling to a certain list. Retrieving a potion is not on this list, retrieving a spell component (full round action) and drawing a light ...
6
votes
1answer
317 views

What ways currently exist to cast a spell that normally requires an action as a Bonus Action?

Using all official 5th edition sources except Unearthed Arcana, what are the ways that I can cast a spell from my character's spell list that normally requires an Action, as a Bonus Action?
14
votes
3answers
1k views

Does a wand count as a 1-Handed Weapon or using one count as an attack?

I have a Fighter in my game trying to use a Magic Missile Wand as a One-Handed Weapon Attack to get the benefit of the Crossbow Expert Feat. The Crossbow Expert Feat requires that the player make an ...
4
votes
2answers
103 views

What action is it to stow or holster a weapon?

What action is it to stow or holster a weapon in Shadowrun 5e? It doesn't appear to be listed in the combat section of the core rulebook, and it's not mentioned in adept powers like rapid draw. Is ...
9
votes
2answers
363 views

Does Mirror image hinder the capacity to take the Hide action?

Let's say a PC has a Mirror image spell active on him and attempts the Hide action on it's turn. As per the spell description, the mirrored images occupy the PC's space, usually a 5'x 5' square : ...
9
votes
8answers
513 views

Does getting information about a monster in combat take an action?

When the heroes enter a combat and want to know information about their enemies (keywords, strengths, weaknesses etc) would the ability check require an action or is this a free action? I have read ...
18
votes
5answers
17k views

Casting multiple spells in a single round

In the PHB page 202 under the bonus action heading it states: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This seems to state that if ...
5
votes
2answers
201 views

Can I move to retrieve thrown weapons (Spears/Javelins) in combat?

I have a simple questions about throwing weapons specifically Javelins/Spears in DnD 5e. If I throw my Javelin at a enemy (regardless if it hits or miss and barring it falls off a cliff or something), ...
2
votes
4answers
15k views

How many Actions are allowed per round in DND 5e for a 2nd level Rogue

Focusing on the Rogue actions, are these all allowable for a single Round? Could there have been any other actions taken? 5e Starter Set Encounter begins: Fighter (lvl 2) engages 3 Ruffians in ...
6
votes
2answers
122 views

If you make a ranged touch attack with an ongoing, visible spell can you benefit from being invisible?

The spell Defenestrating Sphere (Sor/Wiz 4, Duration: 1 rd./level) allows for a ranged touch attack as a move action: When you cast this spell, you create a violently swirling sphere of air. As ...
4
votes
1answer
134 views

Can you sneak attack with a move action with the spell Defenestrating Sphere?

The spell Defenestrating Sphere (Sor/Wiz 4) has a duration of 1 rd./level. The spell description reads: When you cast this spell, you create a violently swirling sphere of air. As a move action, ...
18
votes
2answers
5k views

Does an ability or spell grant me the bonus action with which to use it?

The 5e D&D Basic Rules v0.1 description of casting times says that spells with a casting time of "bonus action" require a bonus action to cast (p. 79, emphasis mine): Most spells require a ...
5
votes
3answers
841 views

Can a wizard cast two spells by taking a full round action? [duplicate]

If a wizard does not move can he cast a second spell in his turn the way melee characters can take extra swings? Also if so, can he still use a quickened spell for a total of three a turn? I have a ...
2
votes
0answers
82 views

Have any RPGs used an Action Point system? [closed]

Are there any RPG systems out there that handle Action Points, or Time Units? Instead of having simple action types, handling turns more like Xcom UFO Defense or Xenonauts. If so, what are the main ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

When can I draw my weapon?

I know I'm about to face a bunch of enemies, I have to draw them out first. If I know I'm about to be in a huge battle, can my weapon be drawn before I go in there or do I have to wait until the ...
0
votes
2answers
211 views

I don't fully understand two-handed weapons and using potions (or other items) [duplicate]

I don't understand exactly what the procedure is if a character wielding a two-handed weapon decides to use a potion or similar item that requires a free hand. The fact you need an action to drink the ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I Ready an action to Disengage?

I want to ready the disengage action as a trigger if a creature appears near me. Is that possible? My DM told me I could ready any other action like dodge, etc. as a trigger except for disengage. I'...
8
votes
3answers
992 views

Can a spell be cast while using a bonus action to control another spell?

Spells such as the cleric's Spiritual Weapon and the Wizard's Bigby's Hand enable the caster to continue to manipulate the spell's effect as a bonus action after the spell has initially been cast. ...
24
votes
5answers
4k views

Is it possible to cast multiple spells per turn?

Never had an issue with spellcaster scaling until today. A player in the group claims he can cast Eldrich Blast twice on his turn. Once as an action, and a second time as a bonus action since it is a ...