This question involves the rules that apply to taking a certain action in a specified system.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

5
votes
3answers
169 views

Can a rider move using his mount, attack from his mount, then the mount dash away in 5e?

I seem to have misunderstood the mounted combat rules. Reading them again it seems that the mount and rider are treated as separate entities but share initiative (this assumes a docile mount, not one ...
18
votes
1answer
16k views

What can I do in one round?

I'm still little confused about actions in Pathfinder. There are standard actions, move actions, full round actions, free actions, etc. I need to know which combinations of these actions I can use in ...
6
votes
2answers
681 views

What's the point of the Legendary Detect action?

Every Ancient Dragon has Detect as a Legendary Action: Detect. The dragon makes a Wisdom (Perception) check. Unless I'm missing something, this seems to be a worthlessly ambiguous action. PHB ...
5
votes
2answers
287 views

How to avoid dropping a wand when grabbing another one

Im working on a character who is going to be using a fair amount of wands. Im going to be using efficient quiver to carry them around, which also lets me grab the one I want easily. Here's the but ...
5
votes
0answers
50 views

Is ending one's turn considered a perceivable circumstance? [duplicate]

The rules for the Ready action are as follows: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or ...
4
votes
3answers
174 views

Combining feats with 2 standard actions in a round

In a Pathfinder campaign me and a friend are Co-DM'ing a campaign and we have a special fight planned for the party if they put in the extra work. They will fight 2, lvl 20, Mythic Tier III ...
2
votes
4answers
1k views

Sentinel and Multiple Attacks

How does the Sentinel skill work with Extra Attacks? Following this answer about Actions/Reactions etc, it says Reactions are actions that you take out of turn (or possibly on your turn) that ...
5
votes
2answers
576 views

How does casting a cantrip work? Is it different than casting a regular spell?

I am a new DM. I do not understand how casting cantrips is supposed to work. For example: is a wizard able to cast Firebolt as an action and then, because Firebolt is a cantrip, cast it again as a ...
7
votes
3answers
444 views

Can you interpose an Action Surge Dash between two attacks?

If a fighter has Extra Attack giving them two attacks, and they want to use one attack on one creature, and the next attack on a different creature that is farther than they can move using their ...
22
votes
3answers
727 views

What overpowered combinations would be available if I allow a bonus action to be used in place of a standard action?

It has come up in game a couple of times that a player might want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action using their "main" action (if they have another bonus action they also want ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you take a free action during an immediate action?

Scenario 1: Consider a Stalwart Defender with the following Defensive Power: Intercept (Ex): Once a round as an immediate action, when a melee or ranged weapon would successfully strike an ...
17
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use your bonus action to Dash on the same turn as you cast Expeditious Retreat?

Expeditious Retreat uses a bonus action to cast and grants you the ability to take the Dash action as a bonus action for as long as the spell lasts. So, can you use the Dash it grants you when cast ...
9
votes
1answer
1k views

Wizard/ Monk Shocking Grasp

I'm playing a 5e Wizard/ Monk build. My DM and I are questioning the viability of the cantrip Shocking Grasp. As a monk I can do another unarmed strike as a bonus action after I attack with a melee ...
7
votes
3answers
238 views

How large must a creature be for the “Climb Onto a Bigger Creature” action?

From the DMG: Climb Onto a Bigger Creature If one creature wants to jump onto another creature, it can do so by grappling. A Small or Medium creature has little chance of making a ...
5
votes
1answer
174 views

What actions/bonus actions/reactions can a character perform out of combat?

DnD 5e has a fairly clear set of rules governing a player's possible Actions in Combat, and in other fast-paced situations a GM may break time into rounds. Among the listed actions, some would seem to ...
4
votes
2answers
81 views

Can you retrieve a potion while grappling?

The Rules Compedium explicitly limits the options while grappling to a certain list. Retrieving a potion is not on this list, retrieving a spell component (full round action) and drawing a light ...
6
votes
1answer
314 views

What ways currently exist to cast a spell that normally requires an action as a Bonus Action?

Using all official 5th edition sources except Unearthed Arcana, what are the ways that I can cast a spell from my character's spell list that normally requires an Action, as a Bonus Action?
14
votes
3answers
1k views

Does a wand count as a 1-Handed Weapon or using one count as an attack?

I have a Fighter in my game trying to use a Magic Missile Wand as a One-Handed Weapon Attack to get the benefit of the Crossbow Expert Feat. The Crossbow Expert Feat requires that the player make an ...
4
votes
2answers
91 views

What action is it to stow or holster a weapon?

What action is it to stow or holster a weapon in Shadowrun 5e? It doesn't appear to be listed in the combat section of the core rulebook, and it's not mentioned in adept powers like rapid draw. Is ...
9
votes
2answers
349 views

Does Mirror image hinder the capacity to take the Hide action?

Let's say a PC has a Mirror image spell active on him and attempts the Hide action on it's turn. As per the spell description, the mirrored images occupy the PC's space, usually a 5'x 5' square : ...
9
votes
8answers
472 views

Does getting information about a monster in combat take an action?

When the heroes enter a combat and want to know information about their enemies (keywords, strengths, weaknesses etc) would the ability check require an action or is this a free action? I have read ...
11
votes
2answers
486 views

What are the consequences of making Quicken Spell an exception to the spellcasting action economy?

When I say 'Spellcasting Action Economy' I mean the rules that state when you cast a spell (Cantrip or otherwise) as a bonus action during your turn, the only other spell you can cast that same turn ...
18
votes
5answers
14k views

Casting multiple spells in a single round

In the PHB page 202 under the bonus action heading it states: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This seems to state that if ...
5
votes
2answers
161 views

Can I move to retrieve thrown weapons (Spears/Javelins) in combat?

I have a simple questions about throwing weapons specifically Javelins/Spears in DnD 5e. If I throw my Javelin at a enemy (regardless if it hits or miss and barring it falls off a cliff or something), ...
2
votes
4answers
13k views

How many Actions are allowed per round in DND 5e for a 2nd level Rogue

Focusing on the Rogue actions, are these all allowable for a single Round? Could there have been any other actions taken? 5e Starter Set Encounter begins: Fighter (lvl 2) engages 3 Ruffians in ...
6
votes
2answers
109 views

If you make a ranged touch attack with an ongoing, visible spell can you benefit from being invisible?

The spell Defenestrating Sphere (Sor/Wiz 4, Duration: 1 rd./level) allows for a ranged touch attack as a move action: When you cast this spell, you create a violently swirling sphere of air. As ...
4
votes
1answer
122 views

Can you sneak attack with a move action with the spell Defenestrating Sphere?

The spell Defenestrating Sphere (Sor/Wiz 4) has a duration of 1 rd./level. The spell description reads: When you cast this spell, you create a violently swirling sphere of air. As a move action, ...
15
votes
2answers
4k views

Does an ability or spell grant me the bonus action with which to use it?

The 5e D&D Basic Rules v0.1 description of casting times says that spells with a casting time of "bonus action" require a bonus action to cast (p. 79, emphasis mine): Most spells require a ...
5
votes
3answers
776 views

Can a wizard cast two spells by taking a full round action? [duplicate]

If a wizard does not move can he cast a second spell in his turn the way melee characters can take extra swings? Also if so, can he still use a quickened spell for a total of three a turn? I have a ...
2
votes
0answers
73 views

Have any RPGs used an Action Point system? [closed]

Are there any RPG systems out there that handle Action Points, or Time Units? Instead of having simple action types, handling turns more like Xcom UFO Defense or Xenonauts. If so, what are the main ...
14
votes
2answers
1k views

When can I draw my weapon?

I know I'm about to face a bunch of enemies, I have to draw them out first. If I know I'm about to be in a huge battle, can my weapon be drawn before I go in there or do I have to wait until the ...
0
votes
2answers
195 views

I don't fully understand two-handed weapons and using potions (or other items) [duplicate]

I don't understand exactly what the procedure is if a character wielding a two-handed weapon decides to use a potion or similar item that requires a free hand. The fact you need an action to drink the ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I Ready an action to Disengage?

I want to ready the disengage action as a trigger if a creature appears near me. Is that possible? My DM told me I could ready any other action like dodge, etc. as a trigger except for disengage. ...
8
votes
3answers
934 views

Can a spell be cast while using a bonus action to control another spell?

Spells such as the cleric's Spiritual Weapon and the Wizard's Bigby's Hand enable the caster to continue to manipulate the spell's effect as a bonus action after the spell has initially been cast. ...
24
votes
5answers
3k views

Is it possible to cast multiple spells per turn?

Never had an issue with spellcaster scaling until today. A player in the group claims he can cast Eldrich Blast twice on his turn. Once as an action, and a second time as a bonus action since it is a ...
2
votes
2answers
294 views

Can a character take both the great weapon fighter and frenzy bonus actions on the same turn?

If my character goes into a frenzy rage and as a bonus action I make an attack that reduces a creature to 0 HP, does the great weapon fighter feat activate allowing for a additional attack? Just ...
8
votes
1answer
77 views

Number of actions to access equipment

After it came up in the last session, i wanted to try and find Information on how long it takes to draw a weapon (from a scabbard, from your back) or a shield (from your back) or things from a ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a magus with a high BAB cast two spells or attack and cast, with their full attack action?

Suppose you are a level 10 Magus or something similar. (Something with a decent BAB progression and spellcasting abilities) When you hit +6/+1, can you cast a spell, then attack, vice-versa, or simply ...
4
votes
5answers
873 views

Can I draw a weapon before making a bonus action attack and get my Duelist bonus?

I've got a character with the Duelist fighting style that fights with a rapier while keeping my other hand free. I also have a dagger sheathed. The way I see it, I can perform a regular attack with ...
6
votes
3answers
283 views

Can you break up your Attack action?

The selected answer for this question states: You can't take a bonus action during another action I was not able to find any rules about it in the Player's Handbook. We know that Attacks of the ...
7
votes
2answers
147 views

What happens when a creature loses its next move action?

The feat Undermountain Tactics allows the use of the tactical maneuver stair king, which says To use this maneuver, you must gain the high ground bonus on your attacks against an opponent. If you ...
22
votes
6answers
39k views

Two-Weapon Fighting & Bonus Action in 5e

During the latest gaming session our level 3 Rogue was Two-Weapon fighting with a Rapier in the main-hand and a scimitar in the off-hand. At the completion of our gaming session I contested the ...
7
votes
4answers
896 views

How can I encourage my players to use overcome and create an advantage actions?

Background Our group is new to Fate, but experienced in other forms of RPGs (from pen and paper to LARP). Fate is a new concept for all of us and has a very different style from what we're used to. ...
15
votes
1answer
272 views

Is it possible to use a spell scroll with a spell that requires a bonus action to cast?

The DMG contains spell scrolls (on page 200), with the following rule: If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use an action to read the scroll and cast its spell without having to ...
19
votes
3answers
393 views

Is it possible to use a spell scroll with a spell that requires a reaction to cast?

The DMG contains spell scrolls (on page 200), with the following rule: If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use an action to read the scroll and cast its spell without having to ...
2
votes
1answer
238 views

Is Multiattack included in the actions a new lycanthrope gains?

In the Monster Manual p.206, it is written: A character who becomes a lycanthrope retains his or her statistics except as specified by lycanthrope type. The character gains the lycanthrope's ...
6
votes
2answers
167 views

Can a PC rise from prone and attack in one action, perhaps with difficulty?

How do you handle a PC who gets knocked down by a NPC (for example, a Caffa) wanting to get up and attack? Can they only stand up on their turn and not attack, or can they attack while getting up? I ...
4
votes
2answers
206 views

Can I be Wile E. Coyote, covering my tracks in bear traps?

I play a fighter who has the feat Quick Draw. After making the Str check to set a bear trap, there's no limit to the length of time the bear trap remains set. Dropping an item is a free action. Could ...
7
votes
2answers
510 views

Is dropping a weapon, “free” in D&D 5e?

I've seen many people on StackExchange and other forums mention that you can drop something as a free action, but I've never seen it sourced, or come across support for it in the Player's Handbook. ...
3
votes
0answers
72 views

Can anyone use Tumble or Overrun as a bonus action? [duplicate]

The book reads, “Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action. This isn’t a feature, spell, or other ability, it is an ...