This question involves the rules that apply to taking a certain action in a specified system.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

22
votes
6answers
39k views

Two-Weapon Fighting & Bonus Action in 5e

During the latest gaming session our level 3 Rogue was Two-Weapon fighting with a Rapier in the main-hand and a scimitar in the off-hand. At the completion of our gaming session I contested the ...
7
votes
1answer
4k views

Drawing and sheathing a weapon in 5e, and the actions required

I've seen this question asked about 4e, and I think I've found the passage in the 5e PHB that answers the question, but I'd like to make sure I understand this correctly before I impose it on my game. ...
4
votes
1answer
969 views

Action economies, two-handed weapons, and spells with Somatic components

This is a follow-on to Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon? So, I have a spell, say Sanctuary, that is cast as a bonus action, yet requires Verbal ...
19
votes
1answer
2k views

How far does a rogue move when dashing twice using Cunning Action?

A rogue receives a bonus Cunning Action, and one option is to Dash. My understanding is a Dash allows a player to move up to twice his speed for his turn. If a rogue is using a regular action to Dash ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Multiple Standard Actions With High Base Attack Bonus

A friend and myself were having a discussion and we had a small disagreement about a rule. He says that if he has a high base attack bonus, say 20/15/10/5, and has a special ability that is activated ...
15
votes
2answers
4k views

Does an ability or spell grant me the bonus action with which to use it?

The 5e D&D Basic Rules v0.1 description of casting times says that spells with a casting time of "bonus action" require a bonus action to cast (p. 79, emphasis mine): Most spells require a ...
13
votes
2answers
5k views

Can a character grab a potion from a pack and drink it without using their action?

In the Player's Basic Rules, it says Interacting with objects around you: Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action: ... withdraw a ...
9
votes
8answers
472 views

Does getting information about a monster in combat take an action?

When the heroes enter a combat and want to know information about their enemies (keywords, strengths, weaknesses etc) would the ability check require an action or is this a free action? I have read ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a creature use an immediate interrupt power and an opportunity attack in the same round?

Can one creature or character use both an immediate interrupt and an opportunity attack in the same round, or are they mutually exclusive actions?
6
votes
1answer
525 views

Swift action spell scrolls

If a spell has a casting time of one swift action, does a scroll of that spell also take a swift action to activate, or does it still take a standard action?
6
votes
8answers
3k views

What do you do when there's nothing to do in combat?

There are a lot of situations in D&D combat where characters seem to be left without anything to do that round. For example, a bard out of inspires and without slashing weapons beset by zombies, ...
3
votes
1answer
806 views

How do the actions work out when sheathing/drawing weapon and then casting a spell?

My character is a Warlock/Fighter with two-weapons fighting speciality. I'm kinda confused with 2 weapons and the spellcasting. All at the same time. So I have the following scenario, please, correct ...
1
vote
2answers
592 views

Immediate action right after damage

Damp Power (psionic): Manifesting Time: 1 immediate action An amber aura quickly spreads over your body, moderating the effects of the environment. When you manifest this power, you are ...
18
votes
1answer
16k views

What can I do in one round?

I'm still little confused about actions in Pathfinder. There are standard actions, move actions, full round actions, free actions, etc. I need to know which combinations of these actions I can use in ...
15
votes
1answer
270 views

Is it possible to use a spell scroll with a spell that requires a bonus action to cast?

The DMG contains spell scrolls (on page 200), with the following rule: If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use an action to read the scroll and cast its spell without having to ...
2
votes
4answers
581 views

Heart of Water and grappling threats

I have been making a new wizard lately and I have been trying to have many ways of avoiding statuses/effects that easily disable/endanger a caster. As many of you know, one of these is Grapple, and ...
23
votes
1answer
2k views

What is the difference between “No Action” and “Free Action”?

What is the difference between No Action, e.g. the Monk's Centered Flurry of Blows [ddi], and the more common Free Action?
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I Ready an action to Disengage?

I want to ready the disengage action as a trigger if a creature appears near me. Is that possible? My DM told me I could ready any other action like dodge, etc. as a trigger except for disengage. ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Do two standard actions equal a full round action?

If a character was somehow able to get two extra standard actions on their round in combat, could those actions be used as an extra full attack action or full round action? Elaboration: In the first ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What action is removing a shield and dropping it to the ground?

I know that removing an equipped shield and stowing it (usually on the back) is a standard action. I also know that dropping an held or wielded item is a free action. What action type is removing an ...
6
votes
2answers
109 views

If you make a ranged touch attack with an ongoing, visible spell can you benefit from being invisible?

The spell Defenestrating Sphere (Sor/Wiz 4, Duration: 1 rd./level) allows for a ranged touch attack as a move action: When you cast this spell, you create a violently swirling sphere of air. As ...
5
votes
3answers
771 views

Can a wizard cast two spells by taking a full round action? [duplicate]

If a wizard does not move can he cast a second spell in his turn the way melee characters can take extra swings? Also if so, can he still use a quickened spell for a total of three a turn? I have a ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use a Bonus Action on a turn other than your own?

The rules for Bonus Actions state; (PHB pg.189) You can take only one bonus action on your turn... Which to me can be read in two ways. 1. You can only take a bonus action if it is your turn. ...
5
votes
1answer
414 views

Is discharging a spell a purely mental action?

We know that casting a spell often requires verbal and/or somatic components. Verbal and somatic components are clearly defined game concepts, but on discharging a spell, all I have is this: ...
4
votes
1answer
121 views

Can you sneak attack with a move action with the spell Defenestrating Sphere?

The spell Defenestrating Sphere (Sor/Wiz 4) has a duration of 1 rd./level. The spell description reads: When you cast this spell, you create a violently swirling sphere of air. As a move action, ...
4
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a magus with a high BAB cast two spells or attack and cast, with their full attack action?

Suppose you are a level 10 Magus or something similar. (Something with a decent BAB progression and spellcasting abilities) When you hit +6/+1, can you cast a spell, then attack, vice-versa, or simply ...
4
votes
3answers
305 views

Encounter powers, magic item powers and immediate reactions

Been fooling around with my artificer character, who has Eldritch Fusillade Expertise, which among other things states the following: "Draw or stow a wand and load crossbow as free action." Now a ...
3
votes
2answers
442 views

Action in Combat , Can I make a full attack with touch attacks for a trigger spell?

Myself and the other characters have 10 levels for templates or monster class and 8 levels for class levels, with Divine Power I gain a bab equal my character level. (18 right?). I cast Shivering ...