Tagged Questions

This question involves the rules that apply to taking a certain action in a specified system.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

9
votes
2answers
961 views

Can a character grab a potion from a pack and drink it without using their action?

In the Player's Basic Rules, it says Interacting with objects around you: Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action: ... withdraw a ...
8
votes
2answers
299 views

Two-Weapon Fighting & Bonus Action in 5e

During the latest gaming session our level 3 Rogue was Two-Weapon fighting with a Rapier in the main-hand and a scimitar in the off-hand. At the completion of our gaming session I contested the ...
10
votes
2answers
547 views

Casting multiple spells in a single round

In the PHB page 202 under the 'bonus action' heading it states: "You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action." This seems to state that if ...
7
votes
3answers
465 views

How can I encourage my players to use overcome and create an advantage actions?

Background Our group is new to Fate, but experienced in other forms of RPGs (from pen and paper to LARP). Fate is a new concept for all of us and has a very different style from what we're used to. ...
0
votes
2answers
236 views

How many Actions are allowed per round in DND 5e for a 2nd level Rogue

Focusing on the Rogue actions, are these all allowable for a single Round? Could there have been any other actions taken? 5e Starter Set Encounter begins: Fighter (lvl 2) engages 3 Ruffians in ...
9
votes
2answers
226 views

What is the sense of a spell/power/effect with Standard Action casting time and only 1 round duration?

This might be a dumb question, but I'm really lost on how some standard action spells / actions are supposed to actually work. If a player takes an standard action that causes some kind of effect, ...
5
votes
2answers
105 views

Can I use Domain powers on myself?

Some Domain powers are enabling the cleric to touch one creature to give it some boons. Example, from CRB, War Domain: Battle Rage (Sp): You can touch a creature as a standard action to give it a ...
3
votes
2answers
45 views

Does a Medic's Weapon's action include the extra channel divinity action?

A character with the Channel Divinity class feature will have a set of associated channel divinity powers that may range from free actions to standard actions. They usually may only use one such power ...
4
votes
2answers
231 views

Unsheathing a weapon from a Handy Haversack

If you have an sheathed weapon in a Handy Haversack that you have within reach (IE tied to your belt), can you both reach for said weapon and unsheath it in a single action? Or does drawing a weapon ...
6
votes
1answer
323 views

Swift action spell scrolls

If a spell has a casting time of one swift action, does a scroll of that spell also take a swift action to activate, or does it still take a standard action?
9
votes
1answer
492 views

Are swift actions allowed during surprise round

I know that normally you are only allowed either a standard or move action during a surprise round. Also you are allowed a free action. The book says nothing about swift actions during the surprise ...
6
votes
1answer
171 views

How Does the underhanded talent work?

I do not understand the rogue talent "Underhanded" from Ultimate Combat. It states that you are able to make a sneak attack for max damage during a surprise round with a hidden weapon. However when I ...
5
votes
2answers
522 views

If you perform a standard action can you still attack on the same turn?

Attacking is a standard action I think so you can't do that right? You can do a move and a standard or 2 moves, but not 2 standards as far as I understand it. Looking for confirmation.
6
votes
2answers
316 views

Performing actions while falling

If a character falls from a great height and has a skill or item that may save them if used early enough, how does one determine where in the fall the item is used? Depending on the reason for the ...
4
votes
3answers
200 views

Encounter powers, magic item powers and immediate reactions

Been fooling around with my artificer character, who has Eldritch Fusillade Expertise, which among other things states the following: "Draw or stow a wand and load crossbow as free action." Now a ...
1
vote
3answers
191 views

Extended actions rules, retry at bonus?

The rules from page 188 of the God Machine Rules Update read: Near Misses So what happens if a character accumulates most of the successes required for the extended action but has to ...
9
votes
3answers
362 views

Can a monk increase his dodge bonus as a swift action out of his turn?

In Pathfinder, a monk has a power which lets him spend a point of his Ki Pool to increase his AC Dodge Bonus as a swift action. Can he do it even when it isn't his turn? a monk can spend 1 point ...
3
votes
4answers
412 views

Can one use a breath weapon and a melee attack in the same turn?

My character is Dragonborn, and has a breath weapon. Making a breath weapon attack is a standard action. I am wondering if I can make a breath weapon and also make one attack with my weapon? I know ...
1
vote
4answers
238 views

Heart of Water and grappling threats

I have been making a new wizard lately and I have been trying to have many ways of avoiding statuses/effects that easily disable/endanger a caster. As many of you know, one of these is Grapple, and ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Touch Spells; Cast, move & attack in one round?

I was re-reading the section in the SRD about touch spells in combat, when I came across this little nugget: SRD says: "Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the ...
2
votes
1answer
246 views

Is there an action cost for changing facing?

Is there, in canonical D&D 3.5*, a ruling prescribing action (move action, standard action etc.) for changing the facing of a character without changing position, or a ruling specifically saying ...
12
votes
3answers
977 views

Multiple Standard Actions With High Base Attack Bonus

A friend and myself were having a discussion and we had a small disagreement about a rule. He says that if he has a high base attack bonus, say 20/15/10/5, and has a special ability that is activated ...
3
votes
2answers
496 views

The Swiftblade full round action contradiction

So, I recently read the Swiftblade prestige class on the wizards website. However, one thing there caught my eye: Perpetual Options (Ex): At 9th level, you can perform even more actions with the ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Do two standard actions equal a full round action?

If a character was somehow able to get two extra standard actions on their round in combat, could those actions be used as an extra full attack action or full round action? Elaboration: In the first ...
1
vote
1answer
2k views

Opportunity attacks and immediate interupts per round [duplicate]

I read this in an online article, which sounded incorrect to me. The Fighter takes his free attack and gets all the additional bonuses that come with Combat Superiority. Needless to say, my ...
3
votes
1answer
5k views

How do multiple attacks with natural weapons work?

I'm planning a character that has 2 claw attacks and a tail attack as natural weapons, but now I'm a little confused about the mechanics of using them all. 1: Can both claws be used at once as a ...
1
vote
2answers
409 views

Immediate action right after damage

Damp Power (psionic): Manifesting Time: 1 immediate action An amber aura quickly spreads over your body, moderating the effects of the environment. When you manifest this power, you are ...
5
votes
1answer
326 views

Is discharging a spell a purely mental action?

We know that casting a spell often requires verbal and/or somatic components. Verbal and somatic components are clearly defined game concepts, but on discharging a spell, all I have is this: ...
6
votes
8answers
2k views

What do you do when there's nothing to do in combat?

There are a lot of situations in D&D combat where characters seem to be left without anything to do that round. For example, a bard out of inspires and without slashing weapons beset by zombies, ...
10
votes
1answer
246 views

Move-attack order and unspent movement - can I mix these however I want?

This is possibly a very simple question, but I couldn't find a definitive answer in the players handbook. If a character has a speed of 6, can he move 3 squares, perform an action, then move the ...
7
votes
4answers
276 views

Can Arcane Powers be used with double action?

Is there anything preventing someone with Arcane Background from using two Powers in one turn, taking a -2 penalty to each cast attempt? Using Powers As an action, a character may use a ...
5
votes
2answers
264 views

In the Cortex system, what is a difficulty number?

I think I understand the concept of the Cortex system, adding the rolls for the skills together, and the Wikipedia page for the Cortex system says that I compare that roll to a difficulty number. In ...
4
votes
1answer
284 views

How do 'no action' powers interact with the events that trigger them?

I'm not sure how to generalize this question, so I'll give the specific example my player is concerned with. Hope it's not too chatty. A monk, adjacent to a single enemy, lands an attack such as ...
16
votes
1answer
8k views

What can I do in one round?

I'm still little confused about actions in Pathfinder. There are standard actions, move actions, full round actions, free actions, etc. I need to know which combinations of these actions I can use in ...
1
vote
2answers
183 views

Can an Undead Servitor act after its controller is dead? [closed]

Can an Undead Servitor act after it's controller is dead? EDIT: (Note that this is not 'act as a sentient creature capable of making it's own choices of action' but 'act' as in 'perform actions'.) ...
23
votes
1answer
2k views

What is the difference between “No Action” and “Free Action”?

What is the difference between No Action, e.g. the Monk's Centered Flurry of Blows [ddi], and the more common Free Action?
6
votes
2answers
568 views

Where can I find information on swift actions?

I found that the rules in Player's Handbook do not cover swift actions. A friend suggested to look in Oriental Adventures, since that is the book that introduced them properly. I did not find ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you take a free action during an immediate action?

Scenario 1: Consider a Stalwart Defender with the following Defensive Power: Intercept (Ex): Once a round as an immediate action, when a melee or ranged weapon would successfully strike an ...
3
votes
1answer
348 views

Action per turn in Savage worlds?

I was looking at the Savage Worlds test drive PDF and was wondering how the action economy goes. Basically for non attack actions in a turn like agility tricks or trying to intimidate an opponent. Are ...
4
votes
1answer
139 views

Doing something sneaky in combat

Let's say I'm a Goliath Barbarian. I want to use my Stone's Endurance racial ability as a minor action, which grants me +5 resist all damage until end of next turn. But, I don't want my opponent to ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What action is removing a shield and dropping it to the ground?

I know that removing an equipped shield and stowing it (usually on the back) is a standard action. I also know that dropping an held or wielded item is a free action. What action type is removing an ...
3
votes
2answers
3k views

What action type is retrieving an item in Pathfinder?

I couldn't find references about the action type(s) of the following acts (standard, move, full-round, etc.) nor if they provoke attacks of opportunity. Retrieving an item attached to the ...
3
votes
1answer
396 views

Does a Readied Action or Delayed Turn count as an Opportunity Action or Immediate Action?

Do Readied Actions or Delayed Turns count against your usage limits for Opportunity Actions or Immediate Actions?
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a creature use an immediate interrupt power and an opportunity attack in the same round?

Can one creature or character use both an immediate interrupt and an opportunity attack in the same round, or are they mutually exclusive actions?