This question involves the rules that apply to taking a certain action in a specified system.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

23
votes
1answer
2k views

What is the difference between “No Action” and “Free Action”?

What is the difference between No Action, e.g. the Monk's Centered Flurry of Blows [ddi], and the more common Free Action?
21
votes
5answers
3k views

Is it possible to cast multiple spells per turn?

Never had an issue with spellcaster scaling until today. A player in the group claims he can cast Eldrich Blast twice on his turn. Once as an action, and a second time as a bonus action since it is a ...
21
votes
2answers
596 views

What overpowered combinations would be available if I allow a bonus action to be used in place of a standard action?

It has come up in game a couple of times that a player might want to cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 bonus action using their "main" action (if they have another bonus action they also want ...
20
votes
6answers
27k views

Two-Weapon Fighting & Bonus Action in 5e

During the latest gaming session our level 3 Rogue was Two-Weapon fighting with a Rapier in the main-hand and a scimitar in the off-hand. At the completion of our gaming session I contested the ...
19
votes
3answers
298 views

Is it possible to use a spell scroll with a spell that requires a reaction to cast?

The DMG contains spell scrolls (on page 200), with the following rule: If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use an action to read the scroll and cast its spell without having to ...
18
votes
1answer
15k views

What can I do in one round?

I'm still little confused about actions in Pathfinder. There are standard actions, move actions, full round actions, free actions, etc. I need to know which combinations of these actions I can use in ...
18
votes
1answer
734 views

Are you considered to have a free hand while using a Versatile weapon?

Certain abilities require a free hand to perform: picking up an item or drawing a weapon, casting a spell with a somatic component, using Gloves of Missile Snaring, etc. If you make a two-handed ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

How far does a rogue move when dashing twice using Cunning Action?

A rogue receives a bonus Cunning Action, and one option is to Dash. My understanding is a Dash allows a player to move up to twice his speed for his turn. If a rogue is using a regular action to Dash ...
16
votes
2answers
632 views

Fate Core incongruence in Action's outcomes?

I'm new in Fate, and I'm amazed by the game style and mechanics. Nevertheless, reading the manual, I think I've found 3 mechanical incongruences. Speaking about the Four Actions and their outcomes, ...
15
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I use a bonus action before my action?

In D&D 5e can I use my bonus action before my action? For example if I wanted to cast Ensnaring Strike before my action to benefit from the bonus immediately. Is this OK, or is a bonus action ...
15
votes
5answers
9k views

Casting multiple spells in a single round

In the PHB page 202 under the bonus action heading it states: You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. This seems to state that if ...
14
votes
2answers
4k views

Does an ability or spell grant me the bonus action with which to use it?

The 5e D&D Basic Rules v0.1 description of casting times says that spells with a casting time of "bonus action" require a bonus action to cast (p. 79, emphasis mine): Most spells require a ...
14
votes
1answer
210 views

Is it possible to use a spell scroll with a spell that requires a bonus action to cast?

The DMG contains spell scrolls (on page 200), with the following rule: If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use an action to read the scroll and cast its spell without having to ...
13
votes
3answers
2k views

Can Mage Hand be used on the turn it is cast?

The description for Mage Hand lists a casting time of 1 action. The spell's description elaborates on its function as: You can use your action to control the hand. I would personally interpret ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Can I Ready an action to Disengage?

I want to ready the disengage action as a trigger if a creature appears near me. Is that possible? My DM told me I could ready any other action like dodge, etc. as a trigger except for disengage. ...
12
votes
2answers
2k views

Multiple Standard Actions With High Base Attack Bonus

A friend and myself were having a discussion and we had a small disagreement about a rule. He says that if he has a high base attack bonus, say 20/15/10/5, and has a special ability that is activated ...
12
votes
3answers
4k views

Touch Spells; Cast, move & attack in one round?

I was re-reading the section in the SRD about touch spells in combat, when I came across this little nugget: SRD says: "Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the ...
12
votes
2answers
4k views

Can a character grab a potion from a pack and drink it without using their action?

In the Player's Basic Rules, it says Interacting with objects around you: Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action: ... withdraw a ...
10
votes
1answer
1k views

Are swift actions allowed during surprise round

I know that normally you are only allowed either a standard or move action during a surprise round. Also you are allowed a free action. The book says nothing about swift actions during the surprise ...
10
votes
1answer
380 views

Move-attack order and unspent movement - can I mix these however I want?

This is possibly a very simple question, but I couldn't find a definitive answer in the players handbook. If a character has a speed of 6, can he move 3 squares, perform an action, then move the ...
9
votes
3answers
518 views

Can a monk increase his dodge bonus as a swift action out of his turn?

In Pathfinder, a monk has a power which lets him spend a point of his Ki Pool to increase his AC Dodge Bonus as a swift action. Can he do it even when it isn't his turn? a monk can spend 1 point ...
9
votes
2answers
2k views

Do two standard actions equal a full round action?

If a character was somehow able to get two extra standard actions on their round in combat, could those actions be used as an extra full attack action or full round action? Elaboration: In the first ...
9
votes
2answers
361 views

What is the sense of a spell/power/effect with Standard Action casting time and only 1 round duration?

This might be a dumb question, but I'm really lost on how some standard action spells / actions are supposed to actually work. If a player takes an standard action that causes some kind of effect, ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

What action is removing a shield and dropping it to the ground?

I know that removing an equipped shield and stowing it (usually on the back) is a standard action. I also know that dropping an held or wielded item is a free action. What action type is removing an ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you take a free action during an immediate action?

Scenario 1: Consider a Stalwart Defender with the following Defensive Power: Intercept (Ex): Once a round as an immediate action, when a melee or ranged weapon would successfully strike an ...
8
votes
3answers
386 views

What kind of action is used to change aspects in Fate?

If I want to change one aspect into another (for example, throwing a bucket of water on an NPC's head to change "My hair's on fire!" to Drenched), what kind of action is that? Do I use Overcome to ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Can a creature use an immediate interrupt power and an opportunity attack in the same round?

Can one creature or character use both an immediate interrupt and an opportunity attack in the same round, or are they mutually exclusive actions?
8
votes
1answer
65 views

Number of actions to access equipment

After it came up in the last session, i wanted to try and find Information on how long it takes to draw a weapon (from a scabbard, from your back) or a shield (from your back) or things from a ...
7
votes
3answers
850 views

Can a spell be cast while using a bonus action to control another spell?

Spells such as the cleric's Spiritual Weapon and the Wizard's Bigby's Hand enable the caster to continue to manipulate the spell's effect as a bonus action after the spell has initially been cast. ...
7
votes
4answers
919 views

Can monsters with multiattack take grapple and shove actions?

If lets say... an Owlbear which has the multiattack trait wants to knock someone down and grapple them. Can the owlbear replace the 2 attack actions covered under the multiattack with a grapple and a ...
7
votes
4answers
405 views

Can Arcane Powers be used with double action?

Is there anything preventing someone with Arcane Background from using two Powers in one turn, taking a -2 penalty to each cast attempt? Using Powers As an action, a character may use a ...
7
votes
4answers
837 views

How can I encourage my players to use overcome and create an advantage actions?

Background Our group is new to Fate, but experienced in other forms of RPGs (from pen and paper to LARP). Fate is a new concept for all of us and has a very different style from what we're used to. ...
7
votes
2answers
432 views

Is dropping a weapon, “free” in D&D 5e?

I've seen many people on StackExchange and other forums mention that you can drop something as a free action, but I've never seen it sourced, or come across support for it in the Player's Handbook. ...
7
votes
2answers
692 views

Can I throw a bonded weapon, summon it to my hand, and throw it again?

Consider an Eldritch Knight that has a bonded thrown weapon. Once he gets extra attack can he or she throw the weapon, use his bonus action to retrieve and then throw it again? Or does that mess too ...
7
votes
2answers
141 views

What happens when a creature loses its next move action?

The feat Undermountain Tactics allows the use of the tactical maneuver stair king, which says To use this maneuver, you must gain the high ground bonus on your attacks against an opponent. If you ...
6
votes
8answers
2k views

What do you do when there's nothing to do in combat?

There are a lot of situations in D&D combat where characters seem to be left without anything to do that round. For example, a bard out of inspires and without slashing weapons beset by zombies, ...
6
votes
3answers
860 views

A player takes half a standard action, what am I supposed to do?

I've got a problem with how to define half a standard action. The hold portal ritual takes 1 standard action to cast. This is so the player can use it in combat. Now this player wants to create a ...
6
votes
1answer
500 views

Swift action spell scrolls

If a spell has a casting time of one swift action, does a scroll of that spell also take a swift action to activate, or does it still take a standard action?
6
votes
3answers
212 views

Can you break up your Attack action?

The selected answer for this question states: You can't take a bonus action during another action I was not able to find any rules about it in the Player's Handbook. We know that Attacks of the ...
6
votes
2answers
673 views

Performing actions while falling

If a character falls from a great height and has a skill or item that may save them if used early enough, how does one determine where in the fall the item is used? Depending on the reason for the ...
6
votes
2answers
442 views

Can I use Domain powers on myself?

Some Domain powers are enabling the cleric to touch one creature to give it some boons. Example, from CRB, War Domain: Battle Rage (Sp): You can touch a creature as a standard action to give it a ...
6
votes
2answers
751 views

Where can I find information on swift actions?

I found that the rules in Player's Handbook do not cover swift actions. A friend suggested to look in Oriental Adventures, since that is the book that introduced them properly. I did not find ...
6
votes
1answer
200 views

Can I Cleave during an Attack of Opportunity and then attack with a Readied action?

Is this situation possible? I have Cleave I have readied an action to attack Someone on horseback charges me, and provokes an attack of opportunity from me I take the Attack of Opportunity, attack ...
6
votes
1answer
359 views

How do 'no action' powers interact with the events that trigger them?

I'm not sure how to generalize this question, so I'll give the specific example my player is concerned with. Hope it's not too chatty. A monk, adjacent to a single enemy, lands an attack such as ...
6
votes
1answer
678 views

How Does the underhanded talent work?

I do not understand the rogue talent "Underhanded" from Ultimate Combat. It states that you are able to make a sneak attack for max damage during a surprise round with a hidden weapon. However when I ...
5
votes
5answers
542 views

Can a single attack be a full attack action?

The haste spell grants an extra attack when a character makes a full attack. My DM says: If you do a single attack and can't continue into a full attack, it's a standard attack, even if you ...
5
votes
2answers
140 views

Can a PC rise from prone and attack in one action, perhaps with difficulty?

How do you handle a PC who gets knocked down by a NPC (for example, a Caffa) wanting to get up and attack? Can they only stand up on their turn and not attack, or can they attack while getting up? I ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

If you perform a standard action can you still attack on the same turn?

Attacking is a standard action I think so you can't do that right? You can do a move and a standard or 2 moves, but not 2 standards as far as I understand it. Looking for confirmation.
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you use a Bonus Action on a turn other than your own?

The rules for Bonus Actions state; (PHB pg.189) You can take only one bonus action on your turn... Which to me can be read in two ways. 1. You can only take a bonus action if it is your turn. ...
5
votes
2answers
402 views

In the Cortex system, what is a difficulty number?

I think I understand the concept of the Cortex system, adding the rolls for the skills together, and the Wikipedia page for the Cortex system says that I compare that roll to a difficulty number. In ...