2
votes
2answers
137 views

Shadows vs. Sleeping Characters

The following question is for DND 3.5 -- The links however are SRD rules links IF that matters somehow. Shadows deal 1D6 strength damage with their incorporeal melee touch attacks. If a shadow were ...
4
votes
1answer
237 views

How many iterative attacks does an epic creature with class levels get?

A naztharune rakshasa (MM3 136-7) has from its Hit Dice a Base Attack Bonus of +11, 8 levels of rogue granting a Base Attack Bonus of +6, and 6 levels of scout (CW 10-13) granting a Base Attack Bonus ...
6
votes
1answer
320 views

How are damage penalties on melee attacks calculated?

Several attacks get only half the Strength bonus to damage - off-hand attacks or attacks from light weapons come to mind. Of course, main hand, non-light attacks get the full Strength bonus and two ...
1
vote
2answers
66 views

How does a full attack for a Corpse Stirge work?

I have recently create a corpse stirge, by applying the corpse template to a stirge. The template gives the stirge a slam attack, that deals 1d3 damage. (1d3-2 after adding strength modifier) ...
2
votes
3answers
1k views

Why can't a feint be part of a full round attack?

When reading the rules from PH3.5 about feints, it states that a feint is a standard action, or with the feat "improved feint" it can be a movement action. So unlike with others special attacks that ...
3
votes
3answers
495 views

If a feat replaces the Strength mod to melee attacks with a different stat, can I still choose to use Strength?

Can you revert to using base attack roll stats (i.e. Strength for calculating melee attack rolls) if you have a feat that lets you use a different stat, or does taking the feat permanently switch you ...
10
votes
1answer
810 views

Touch Attack Spells vs Incorporeal Creatures

Is it possible to hit an incorporeal creature with a spell that requires a melee touch attack without the use of any magical ability that allows one to make contact with incorporeal beings? Put ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Brilliant energy not all it's cracked up to be?

I have this sai and it's already a speed weapon. That character will be taking improved disarm. Am looking at the entry for brilliant energy. "A brilliant energy weapon ignores nonliving matter." ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Can you stack Combat Expertise and Power Attack?

Are you allowed to stack the feats of Power Attack and Combat Expertise in a single round?