An action to cause damage or some other debilitation.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

2
votes
1answer
195 views

confusion/question for attack power description in character builder

I'm confused as to the description of some of the attack powers for my players' characters. I'm using Wizards character builder for this so im referring to their attack power cards they include in ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Barbarian Attack and Damage?

How do you calculate the attack and damage bonuses for a level 1 barbarian? Assume an 18 (+4) strength and the Power Attack & Weapon Focus (Greatsword) feats. My attempt to do so is below, but I ...
8
votes
1answer
264 views

When does a power count as an attack?

I thought it was pretty simple: a power's an attack if it says Attack in the top right. Apparently, it's not that simple. I keep hearing there are other conditions a power must fulfil to count ...
3
votes
1answer
186 views

Does Staff of Provocation allow enemy attack himself?

Suppose two players are fighting, and one of them has the Staff of Provocation (PHB2): Power (Daily ✦Charm):Free Action. Trigger: You hit an enemy with an attack power using this staff. ...
-3
votes
1answer
563 views

How do I read these attacks?

Attack: Ranged 10 (one creature); +9 vs. Fortitude Attack: Melee 2 (one creature); +9 vs. AC Attack: Ranged 5/10 (one creature); +6 Can anybody break these down for me?
2
votes
3answers
893 views

What affects the Druid beast form attack bonus?

I have a Lv1 Razorclaw Shifter, Predator Druid with +5 WIS mod. If I'm in beast form and I attack with Grasping Claws, is it really just +5 vs Reflex? I don't have a bonus from any implements and ...
11
votes
2answers
536 views

Should I pay attention to the defenses targeted when choosing my powers?

I'm building a 1st level human wizard for my first 4e campaign. As of now, my at-wills are Winged Horde (targets Will), Unraveling Dart (targets Fortitude) and Arc Lightning (targets Reflex). I was ...
4
votes
2answers
598 views

Attack Power and Heavy Throw

If an Attack Power is say Dex vs. AC, but you're using a Heavy Throw weapon (which is then based on Strength) does the Power still count from Dex?
5
votes
3answers
23k views

How do multiple natural attacks work?

Okay, I need some clarification. The Pathfinder Core Rules state this about natural attacks: You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive ...
3
votes
1answer
521 views

Attack Bonus question for Monsters with multiple attacks from multiple weapons

When a monster wields multiple weapons, and can attack multiple times with each, how do I alter (or should I leave) the given attack bonuses on each type of attack on the enemy's stat block? Take, ...
7
votes
1answer
800 views

How many attacks can an Olethrodaemon get with a full round attack?

I am a new DM having a little trouble understanding the monster stas blocks for higher level Pathfinder monsters. I get most of the lower CR monsters, but then I doubt myself when enemies seem to be ...
0
votes
1answer
158 views

Can a defender counter on a multiple attack power where only one attack includes her as a target? [duplicate]

Possible Duplicate: How do marks interact with dual attacks? Defenders usually have a power with a trigger like: Trigger: An enemy marked by you makes an attack that does not include ...
3
votes
5answers
6k views

Flurry of Blows calculation

Let's say, we have there 1st level Monk, and he has STR 17/+3. Now we are calculating base attack with his Flurry of Blows. For first level, we have "Flurry of Blows Attack Bonus" -1/-1, plus 1st ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Brilliant energy not all it's cracked up to be?

I have this sai and it's already a speed weapon. That character will be taking improved disarm. Am looking at the entry for brilliant energy. "A brilliant energy weapon ignores nonliving matter." ...
7
votes
1answer
318 views

Order of actions in combat

Is there a specific order in which move / move-equivalent actions and standard actions should occur during a combat round? I know you can take the 5-foot step at the beginning or the end of the turn, ...
11
votes
1answer
328 views

Can I use Cleave even if there's only one enemy?

The target for Cleave [ddi] says "One creature", but the effect states that another enemy adjacent to you that isn't the target takes damage. Does this mean I can use Cleave even if there aren't ...
8
votes
1answer
268 views

How does Grapple interact with Attacks?

I grapple a guy and am able to hold him down. The rule in the book says a grappled enemy can't do anything unless he beats the grapple. Does this mean that if members of my party attack him he doesn't ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

Pathfinder: 2 Talon Attack or 2 Attacks?

In Pathfinder (as D&D) if you make a move action, you forfeit your secondary attack. However, an Eagle has natural "2 x talon attack" listed as its primary, with a bite attack as a secondary. ...
9
votes
3answers
1k views

Can you stack Combat Expertise and Power Attack?

Are you allowed to stack the feats of Power Attack and Combat Expertise in a single round?
8
votes
2answers
481 views

Can a creature be grabbed by two different creatures at the same time?

I've been playing the Thunderspire Labyrinth adventure for D&D 4th edition, and at one point a character was grabbed by two different monsters. Can two different creatures of different types grab ...