An aura in D&D 4th edition is a zone centered on the source creature. It passively affects other creatures if they are inside the zone. It is usually easy for the creature to activate and requires no action to sustain.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
1answer
92 views

Does Fiery Aura effect every Natural Attack in a round?

In my most recent session a player in my group who is a Synthesist Summoner attacked a burning skeleton. I ruled that the Fiery Aura activated with each natural attack, and so with his full attack ...
3
votes
1answer
179 views

How do players learn about traits and auras with monster knowledge rolls?

The PHB establishes the following DCs for monster knowledge rolls: 15 - Name, type and keywords 20 - Powers 25 - Resistances and vulnerabilities Where do you list auras and traits? Do you treat them ...
3
votes
1answer
448 views

How large is a fey beast's aura?

This might be a stupid question because I can't find the answer anywhere.. How large is the aura of a fey beast companion? I'm considering making a Fey Beast Tamer. Also, can you use a fey beast ...
7
votes
2answers
615 views

Do Defender Auras require activation?

I'm asking here because I've gotten different responses from different DMs. My home campaign DM said I had to activate my Knight's defender aura during my first round of an encounter before it was ...
3
votes
1answer
572 views

Do powers/feats/features that buff a character's healing work with Skald's Aura?

Skald's Aura: [...] you or any ally in the aura can use a minor action to spend a healing surge and regain 1 d6 additional hit points. Alternatively, you or any ally can use a minor action to ...
9
votes
1answer
555 views

Can I have more than 1 aura active at the same time?

Can I have more than 1 aura active at the same time? Example, can one character have both: Aura of Peace (peace of messenger paragon path lvl 16) Skald's Aura (bard utility) active?
7
votes
1answer
173 views

Does a creature know the precise rule effects of a zone or aura when they are affected by it?

My question here revolves around when and how much information does a player or creature gain about an aura or zone, once they are affected by it. Do those affected know exactly what effects are ...
12
votes
1answer
428 views

Does the Tarrasque cause flying creatures to plummet to their death?

As mentioned in this answer: The Tarrasque's Earthbinding aura ... prevents creatures to fly beyond 4 squares above the ground My question was, if the creature was ~30 squares in the air, and ...