Identifies a deity-bound caster, a playable class. Clerics will have different restrictions and allowances based on their deity.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
1answer
63 views

How many bonus priest spells do you get for high Intuition?

How exactly do the Bonus Spells granted by the Wisdom/Intuition subability work in 2E Skills & Powers? For example, at Intuition 17, a priest has "3rd" bonus spells, and at Intuition 18, "4th" ...
6
votes
1answer
343 views

Thunderbolt strike vs grapple

What happens when a creature has grapple as part of their attack (e.g. Constrict from a yuan-ti) attempts to use that on a cleric with the thunderbolt strike ability and has a successful hit? Does ...
3
votes
1answer
86 views

Clerics in Mystara - Which divine spheres does each Immortal allow?

Can anyone help me because I can't find any reference to what, or how many Divine Spheres each Immortal allows to their clerics. I own the Karameikos, kingdom of adventure book, and it tells about ...
10
votes
3answers
1k views

How to be effective as a Healing Cleric

Some times things are just too much of a fun/stupid combo idea not to try your darnedest not to work out. What is the best way to make a Cleric that literally only does healing/buffing? Is this even ...
13
votes
5answers
2k views

How can I homebrew a more priestly divine caster?

I'm going to DM a new D&D 5e campaign soon, and a player wants to play a priest that's more like how they are in World of Warcraft Priest—focused on healing and spiritual matters rather than a ...
4
votes
1answer
566 views

Does the Life Cleric ability Disciple of Life apply to the spell Aid?

My first thought was oh yes it does because it is giving hitpoints, then a closer reading seemed to show that no it wouldn't because it wasn't restoring hitpoints. I'm still low level so I've been ...
2
votes
1answer
98 views

Can you retry a failed Turn Undead attempt?

In AD&D if you tried to turn undead and failed to roll high enough to turn that hit die of undead, you could not retry turning that same undead. In 3.5 I don't see that restriction. So can you ...
-4
votes
2answers
337 views

Can a War domain Cleric learn Fireball with Ritual Caster?

I'm a Cleric and my Domain is War. I recently got to level 8 and decided to take the Ritual Caster Feat and choose Cleric. Certain Clerics can learn stuff like Fireball if they are in the Light Domain ...
3
votes
2answers
263 views

Summoned Sun Creatures?

One of the PCs in my campaign is a cleric of the campaign's sun god. I want to customize the cleric's summon monster list with sun-themed creatures. Rather than the celestial template, is there a ...
8
votes
3answers
2k views

What is a spell for preventing a chest burster?

Context: Me and my party (Summoner, Ninja, Ranger, Alchemist, I'm a cleric, all level 11) are in a fairly standard setting, when we stumble upon a crashed spaceship that has been infested with disease....
6
votes
1answer
166 views

Does Empowering an Ongoing spell double the −1 to cast spells too?

So if I were to cast Magic Weapon, which increases the damage dealt by one weapon by 1d4 and imposes a −1 ongoing to cast spells, and Empower it; would both the positive effect and the negative (−1 ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Are cleric domain spells unlimited like cantrips?

I'm trying to make a level 1 Cleric. I'm going to use the Life Domain; at level 1 it says the Domain spells are Bless and Cure Wounds. It also says they are always prepared and don't use up a spell ...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

Are the Light Domain Cleric cantrips in addition to the 3 starting cantrips?

The Cantrips known chart for a level 1 cleric states you know 3 cantrips at level 1. The light domain cleric at level one gets the light cantrip if she doesn't already know it. So, does a light ...
10
votes
1answer
212 views

Is Apotheosis cosmetic or functional?

Apotheosis states that the cleric permanently gains a physical characteristic of his deity. Examples given are claws, wings made of sapphires, and an all seeing third eye. Assuming functionality as ...
4
votes
0answers
239 views

What does the paladin spell list hold for an already versatile caster? [closed]

I am considering playing a cleric//wizard gestalt character in an upcoming campaign set in Eberron. I haven't picked a race, but I'm considering taking, on the wizard side, the prestige class silver ...
4
votes
1answer
113 views

Should you always become a Specialty Priest when you qualify for it?

Going through Faiths & Avatars and its sorta-followup Powers & Pantheons I saw the various Specialty Priests listed there, and some of them looked pretty neat with all sorts of unique ...
3
votes
2answers
354 views

Can I inscribe or inset a holy symbol into my longbow?

In the Player's Handbook, the holy symbols of the gods are detailed. The symbol of Corellon Larethian is a crescent moon. Can I take some of my chalk, and draw (reverently, of course) a crescent ...
6
votes
1answer
352 views

Are there mechanical reasons for a Cleric to use their deity's favored weapon over another one?

There are a number of deities that have low-damaging weapons as their favored weapon, like daggers and gauntlets. Sharess for example has the Claw Bracer as her favored weapon, which according to the ...
4
votes
3answers
436 views

What does the Cleric alignment requirement mean for Clerics with no deity?

The Cleric rules say: Alignment: A cleric's alignment must be within one step of her deity's, along either the law/chaos axis or the good/evil axis. But you can also be a cleric with no deity: ...
2
votes
1answer
181 views

Which of these items should I buy for my Cleric of Mystra?

I'm playing a FR campaign as a level 7 Cleric of Mystra. I have the possibility of buying one of these two magic items: +2 Wisdom necklace A ring that gives a) nobody can see my alignment; b) ...
5
votes
1answer
890 views

Is Command spell a charm? [duplicate]

Is the 1st level Command spell [PHB p223] a "charm" (that would trigger an elf's Fey Ancestry [PHB p23] racial ability and thus get advantage on the saving throw)?
2
votes
1answer
582 views

Improving Cleric Survivability

I'm doing PFS (Pathfinder Society) play as a cleric. Currently I'm level 2 and focused mostly on buffing/supporting. Generally I stand in the back, buff people at the beginning of combat, then pull a ...
2
votes
1answer
1k views

Does a Cleric with high Wisdom get all their bonus spells?

How do bonus spells work? Bob is a Level 2 Cleric with a 16 Wisdom. The class table grants him the following spells per day [O:4] [L1:2+1] But his high casting stat grants him the following Bonus ...
3
votes
2answers
481 views

How can a Good-aligned cleric cast Desecrate?

A Cleric5/Malconvoker5 needs to cast Desecrate. He is currently Good aligned and wants to maintain that alignment in order to avoid complications from pesky adventurers' overzealous use of Detect Evil....
12
votes
8answers
12k views

Can Clerics be Death Domain and Neutral?

Basically, me and my friend have been arguing for 2 months over the Death domain cleric alignment. He keeps referencing the DMG's quote of "The gods of death domain embody murder" and the fact it is a ...
7
votes
3answers
1k views

Can clerics use spell scrolls for spells they receive through their Divine domains?

I've been trying to resolve some edge cases with who can use which spell scrolls. As the DMG says in the Spell Scroll entry on page 200: "If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use an ...
1
vote
1answer
1k views

Do D&D 5E characters get the characteristics of both Classes AND Backgrounds?

I went into character creation assuming yes, but I feel like I'm overdoing it. If I'm doing this right, my Half-Elf Cleric (Nature) with Acolyte Background has: Two Holy Symbols (from Cleric and ...
4
votes
1answer
322 views

Do I always have access to my domain powers?

I am playing as a cleric of Fharlanghn in my first D&D campaign ever. We are using 3.5 rulings and only the handbook to get our feet wet. This gives me access to the luck and travel domains which ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Can Clerics take Spell Focus?

Can Clerics use the Spell Focus feat by RAW? The Summoner advice Brian linked me to in his answer mentions that Augment Summoning is a good feat for summoning focused characters, but it requires Spell ...
8
votes
1answer
574 views

Can Spiritual Weapon summon a natural weapon?

Going back to my halfling cleric of Bahamut -- I RPed him casting Spiritual Weapon as summoning a dragon's head down to chomp on his foes (same damage die, of course). Is reskinning Spiritual Weapon ...
2
votes
3answers
676 views

How should I make my low-strength cleric more effective at being a close-range tank?

I have a cleric who's currently focused on range combat, but is in a position where she'd probably pull her weight better by playing in a melee gish or close-range fighter role. She's been forced into ...
13
votes
2answers
1k views

Can a Cleric leave spell slots open to prepare later?

In another question, it's explained that Wizards can leave spell slots blank to be prepared later. I want to know if a Cleric can do the same thing: can a Cleric leave spell slots open when they first ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a holy symbol take some artistic license?

When using an amulet as one's holy symbol, does it have to take the precise form dictated by the religion (e.g., as in the table of deities in the PHB, pages 294–6), or can a player use creative ...
5
votes
2answers
2k views

Can a good cleric prepare Inflict Light Wounds?

Inflict Light Wounds is listed in the 3.5e PHB as a Necromancy spell but with no alignment descriptor at all. I cannot find anything in the PHB that prevents a Good-aligned Cleric from preparing that ...
15
votes
5answers
2k views

How do I protect myself from harm and wrack?

In one of my groups, there is an evil cleric. He constantly uses the 'harm' spell to greatly reduce the enemies hp (after several buffs and debuffs). The thing is, since he is playing with an evil ...
20
votes
1answer
5k views

Can clerics create holy water?

I'm running a 5th edition campaign that's going well. I'm not very versed in the system just yet, and my group has run into a little bit of a bind - it's not game-breaking, but it tends to come up ...
8
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a Light domain cleric's Warding Flare be used in response to an Attack of Opportunity?

Say a Light domain cleric is adjacent to a hostile creature, and attacks the enemy as its action. After the action, the cleric moves away from the creature, provoking an attack of opportunity, which ...
4
votes
2answers
292 views

Can I prepare metamagicked spells in my domain slots?

Albeit this question was for Pathfinder, it made me wonder. Can a cleric prepare a lower level domain spell with some metamagic applied in the appropriate level slot, like an extended circle of ...
10
votes
1answer
544 views

Pathfinder: Cleric Domain Spell Slot

Can I prepare a Lower leveled domain spell in a Higher leveled Domain spell slot?
5
votes
2answers
331 views

In D&D can a cleric choose to 'partially use' turn undead for purposes of, say, torture

In our fourth edition campaign we have a cleric trying to partially use Turn Undead against an undead character. Disregarding whether this constitutes a use of power, can the cleric intentionally ...
4
votes
1answer
1k views

Action economies, two-handed weapons, and spells with Somatic components

This is a follow-on to Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon? So, I have a spell, say Sanctuary, that is cast as a bonus action, yet requires Verbal ...
24
votes
4answers
2k views

How do touch spells work against creatures you're already touching?

The other day, a few others and I were playing Pathfinder and I have a question over tactic that I used. Our GM threw slug/tentacle like creatures at us that began with attaching themselves to our ...
8
votes
5answers
7k views

Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon?

I have a halfling cleric of Bahamut who wears his holy symbol as an amulet around his neck as a spellcasting focus (so material components are not an issue). However, as per this question, this does ...
21
votes
3answers
7k views

Can I cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield?

I have a human cleric (war domain) with the war casting feat. She holds a warhammer and a shield. Am I able to cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield? If ...
6
votes
0answers
328 views

Today, War (domain) changes [closed]

I am running a war cleric, but my DM and I have noticed a problem with the War domain. The official War domain is as follows: War Free Martial Weapon Proficiency with deity’s favored weapon (...
13
votes
2answers
265 views

Does the Sapphire Hierarch's prereq “Access to the law domain” require actually choosing the domain?

While researching an edit for my answer here, I had occasion to re-read the sapphire hierarch. One of its pre-reqs is: Access to the Law domain. This wording seems to be unique to the PrC. A ...
9
votes
2answers
685 views

How much should my cleric charge in a shop?

My DM is allowing PCs during downtime to find work. Thinking that my character is a cleric with the life domain might net him more during the downtime that just as a common laborer. I haven't been ...
1
vote
0answers
60 views

Can Ex-Clerics start worshipping a new god? [duplicate]

If a cleric falls out of line from their Deity s/he becomes a ex-cleric and loses s/he powers but if said character started worshipping a Deity that is in their new allingment would s/he have to start ...
-4
votes
1answer
4k views

How many spells does a cleric add to its repertoire at each level?

A 1st level wizard starts by knowing all level 0 spells and a number of level 1 spells equal to 3 plus his Intelligence modifier, and he gets 2 more spells per level for free. How does this work for ...
9
votes
3answers
2k views

Does multiclassing into Cleric grant Domain Bonus Proficiencies?

I know that the Multiclassing Proficiencies are listed on p. 164 of the Player's Handbook: Proficiencies When you gain a level in a class other than your first, you gain only some of that class'...