Identifies a deity-bound caster, a playable class. Clerics will have different restrictions and allowances based on their deity.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
0answers
127 views

What does the paladin spell list hold for an already versatile caster? [closed]

I am considering playing a cleric//wizard gestalt character in an upcoming campaign set in Eberron. I haven't picked a race, but I'm considering taking, on the wizard side, the prestige class silver ...
3
votes
1answer
73 views

Should you always become a Specialty Priest when you qualify for it?

Going through Faiths & Avatars and its sorta-followup Powers & Pantheons I saw the various Specialty Priests listed there, and some of them looked pretty neat with all sorts of unique ...
7
votes
5answers
2k views

Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon?

I have a halfling cleric of Bahamut who wears his holy symbol as an amulet around his neck as a spellcasting focus (so material components are not an issue). However, as per this question, this does ...
8
votes
4answers
2k views

Can Clerics be Death Domain and Neutral?

Basically, me and my friend have been arguing for 2 months over Death domain cleric alignment. He keeps referencing the DMGs quote of "The gods of death domain embody murder" and the fact it is a ...
4
votes
3answers
244 views

What does the Cleric alignment requirement mean for Clerics with no deity?

The Cleric rules say: Alignment: A cleric's alignment must be within one step of her deity's, along either the law/chaos axis or the good/evil axis. But you can also be a cleric with no deity: ...
3
votes
3answers
140 views

Can I inscribe or inset a holy symbol into my longbow?

In the Player's Handbook, the holy symbols of the gods are detailed. The symbol of Corellon Larethian is a crescent moon. Can I take some of my chalk, and draw (reverently, of course) a crescent ...
5
votes
1answer
210 views

Are there mechanical reasons for a Cleric to use their deity's favored weapon over another one?

There are a number of deities that have low-damaging weapons as their favored weapon, like daggers and gauntlets. Sharess for example has the Claw Bracer as her favored weapon, which according to the ...
10
votes
2answers
4k views

Pathfinder Cleric Domains: How exactly do they work?

I've recently started playing Pathfinder with some of my friends. It's going quite well, even though none of us had PnP experience before! I am playing a Cleric. Picked the Healing and Fire domain. I ...
1
vote
1answer
134 views

Which of these items should I buy for my Cleric of Mystra?

I'm playing a FR campaign as a level 7 Cleric of Mystra. I have the possibility of buying one of these two magic items: +2 Wisdom necklace A ring that gives a) nobody can see my alignment; b) ...
20
votes
3answers
2k views

Can I cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield?

I have a human cleric (war domain) with the war casting feat. She holds a warhammer and a shield. Am I able to cast spells that require a material component and still hold my hammer and shield? If ...
5
votes
6answers
818 views

Counter to Celestial Brilliance

The cleric in my party makes frequent use of the spell Celestial Brilliance (from Book of Exalted Deeds) and I've been doing some research on the web. Most people I've seen in other forums tend to ...
9
votes
2answers
577 views

How much should my cleric charge in a shop?

My DM is allowing PCs during downtime to find work. Thinking that my character is a cleric with the life domain might net him more during the downtime that just as a common laborer. I haven't been ...
28
votes
5answers
2k views

Can an undead cleric resurrect himself?

Inspired by the current OOTS story thread, I was trying to think my way around a resolution for the situation and wondered: Would it be valid for an undead cleric to cast resurrect on himself?
5
votes
2answers
309 views

Is Command spell a charm? [duplicate]

Is the 1st level Command spell [PHB p223] a "charm" (that would trigger an elf's Fey Ancestry [PHB p23] racial ability and thus get advantage on the saving throw)?
3
votes
2answers
322 views

How can a Good-aligned cleric cast Desecrate?

A Cleric5/Malconvoker5 needs to cast Desecrate. He is currently Good aligned and wants to maintain that alignment in order to avoid complications from pesky adventurers' overzealous use of Detect ...
2
votes
1answer
317 views

Improving Cleric Survivability

I'm doing PFS (Pathfinder Society) play as a cleric. Currently I'm level 2 and focused mostly on buffing/supporting. Generally I stand in the back, buff people at the beginning of combat, then pull a ...
27
votes
3answers
24k views

How does wizard & cleric spell preparation and casting work?

In 3.X wizards had spellbooks, while clerics had their entire spell list, but they both memorized/prepared spells every day from those lists, and had a certain number of slots for preparing spells in. ...
0
votes
1answer
93 views

Does a Cleric with high Wisdom get all their bonus spells? [duplicate]

How do bonus spells work? Bob is a Level 2 Cleric with a 16 Wisdom. The class table grants him the following spells per day [O:4] [L1:2+1] But his high casting stat grants him the following Bonus ...
6
votes
3answers
725 views

Why do Clerics unlock 3rd and 4th level spells at the same experience level?

In Moldvay, possibly Holmes, and the retro-clone, Swords & Wizardry, Clerics simultaneously unlock 3rd and 4th level spells at the 6th experience level. They advance from 2/2 at level 5, to ...
8
votes
1answer
425 views

Can a Light domain cleric's Warding Flare be used in response to an Attack of Opportunity?

Say a Light domain cleric is adjacent to a hostile creature, and attacks the enemy as its action. After the action, the cleric moves away from the creature, provoking an attack of opportunity, which ...
7
votes
3answers
824 views

Can clerics use spell scrolls for spells they receive through their Divine domains?

I've been trying to resolve some edge cases with who can use which spell scrolls. As the DMG says in the Spell Scroll entry on page 200: "If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use an ...
1
vote
1answer
414 views

Do D&D 5E characters get the characteristics of both Classes AND Backgrounds?

I went into character creation assuming yes, but I feel like I'm overdoing it. If I'm doing this right, my Half-Elf Cleric (Nature) with Acolyte Background has: Two Holy Symbols (from Cleric and ...
4
votes
1answer
214 views

Do I always have access to my domain powers?

I am playing as a cleric of Fharlanghn in my first D&D campaign ever. We are using 3.5 rulings and only the handbook to get our feet wet. This gives me access to the luck and travel domains which ...
2
votes
3answers
338 views

How should I make my low-strength cleric more effective at being a close-range tank?

I have a cleric who's currently focused on range combat, but is in a position where she'd probably pull her weight better by playing in a melee gish or close-range fighter role. She's been forced into ...
13
votes
2answers
606 views

Can a Cleric leave spell slots open to prepare later?

In another question, it's explained that Wizards can leave spell slots blank to be prepared later. I want to know if a Cleric can do the same thing: can a Cleric leave spell slots open when they first ...
6
votes
3answers
1k views

Can Clerics take Spell Focus?

Can Clerics use the Spell Focus feat by RAW? The Summoner advice Brian linked me to in his answer mentions that Augment Summoning is a good feat for summoning focused characters, but it requires Spell ...
8
votes
1answer
428 views

Can Spiritual Weapon summon a natural weapon?

Going back to my halfling cleric of Bahamut -- I RPed him casting Spiritual Weapon as summoning a dragon's head down to chomp on his foes (same damage die, of course). Is reskinning Spiritual Weapon ...
5
votes
2answers
855 views

Can a good cleric prepare Inflict Light Wounds?

Inflict Light Wounds is listed in the 3.5e PHB as a Necromancy spell but with no alignment descriptor at all. I cannot find anything in the PHB that prevents a Good-aligned Cleric from preparing that ...
3
votes
1answer
477 views

Can a holy symbol take some artistic license?

When using an amulet as one's holy symbol, does it have to take the precise form dictated by the religion (e.g., as in the table of deities in the PHB, pages 294–6), or can a player use creative ...
14
votes
5answers
2k views

How do I protect myself from harm and wrack?

In one of my groups, there is an evil cleric. He constantly uses the 'harm' spell to greatly reduce the enemies hp (after several buffs and debuffs). The thing is, since he is playing with an evil ...
16
votes
1answer
2k views

Can clerics create holy water?

I'm running a 5th edition campaign that's going well. I'm not very versed in the system just yet, and my group has run into a little bit of a bind - it's not game-breaking, but it tends to come up ...
4
votes
2answers
201 views

Can I prepare metamagicked spells in my domain slots?

Albeit this question was for Pathfinder, it made me wonder. Can a cleric prepare a lower level domain spell with some metamagic applied in the appropriate level slot, like an extended circle of ...
5
votes
2answers
293 views

Is it possible for cleric to cast spells of opposed alignments?

Are there are means for clerics to cast spells with incompatible alignment descriptors? I can think of two possibilities. The first is creating a spell that temporary switches the caster's alignment. ...
5
votes
2answers
264 views

Can I use Domain powers on myself?

Some Domain powers are enabling the cleric to touch one creature to give it some boons. Example, from CRB, War Domain: Battle Rage (Sp): You can touch a creature as a standard action to give it a ...
24
votes
4answers
2k views

How do touch spells work against creatures you're already touching?

The other day, a few others and I were playing Pathfinder and I have a question over tactic that I used. Our GM threw slug/tentacle like creatures at us that began with attaching themselves to our ...
4
votes
2answers
305 views

In D&D can a cleric choose to 'partially use' turn undead for purposes of, say, torture

In our fourth edition campaign we have a cleric trying to partially use Turn Undead against an undead character. Disregarding whether this constitutes a use of power, can the cleric intentionally ...
9
votes
1answer
382 views

Pathfinder: Cleric Domain Spell Slot

Can I prepare a Lower leveled domain spell in a Higher leveled Domain spell slot?
4
votes
1answer
387 views

Action economies, two-handed weapons, and spells with Somatic components

This is a follow-on to Can you cast spells with a Somatic component if you're holding a two-handed weapon? So, I have a spell, say Sanctuary, that is cast as a bonus action, yet requires Verbal ...
26
votes
10answers
19k views

What made clerics so strong in D&D 3.5?

I'm just starting a campaign for the first time with a couple of friends, and I've been told that certain classes like cleric are really strong; some people even say they're overpowered. What is it ...
13
votes
3answers
4k views

I want to have elite troop of undead, but which undead?

It's me again with more questions about undead. I was reading the cleric's animate dead spell, and I was a little bit disappointed after reading the skeleton's stats. 6 hp is kind of bad for an elite ...
6
votes
0answers
230 views

Today, War (domain) changes [closed]

I am running a war cleric, but my DM and I have noticed a problem with the War domain. The official War domain is as follows: War Free Martial Weapon Proficiency with deity’s favored weapon ...
13
votes
2answers
201 views

Does the Sapphire Hierarch's prereq “Access to the law domain” require actually choosing the domain?

While researching an edit for my answer here, I had occasion to re-read the sapphire hierarch. One of its pre-reqs is: Access to the Law domain. This wording seems to be unique to the PrC. A ...
8
votes
3answers
6k views

How to choose between dual wielding and two hand weapon fighting

At first glance dual wielding two weapons and two handing a single large weapon seem to be competing to fill the same role of martial damage per round. However, I have the feeling that like in past ...
-4
votes
1answer
1k views

How many spells does a cleric add to its repertoire at each level?

A 1st level wizard starts by knowing all level 0 spells and a number of level 1 spells equal to 3 plus his Intelligence modifier, and he gets 2 more spells per level for free. How does this work for ...
1
vote
0answers
55 views

Can Ex-Clerics start worshipping a new god? [duplicate]

If a cleric falls out of line from their Deity s/he becomes a ex-cleric and loses s/he powers but if said character started worshipping a Deity that is in their new allingment would s/he have to start ...
9
votes
2answers
1k views

Does multiclassing into Cleric grant Domain Bonus Proficiencies?

I know that the Multiclassing Proficiencies are listed on p. 164 of the Player's Handbook: Proficiencies When you gain a level in a class other than your first, you gain only some of that ...
12
votes
1answer
912 views

Can a sorc 19 / cleric 1 cast cleric spells at higher sorcerer levels?

Inspired by this answer http://rpg.stackexchange.com/a/46442/3799 Sorc 19/Cleric 1 has a bit more issues. You only have the few L1 cleric spells, and lots of Sorcerer spells, make sure you took ...
4
votes
1answer
924 views

Pros & Cons: Sorcerer & Cleric cross-class

I'm toying with the idea of cross-classing a Sorcerer with one level in Cleric (Life domain for the bonuses to heals and heavy armor). At 2nd level, 1st level Cleric & 1st level Sorcerer, what ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

The relationship between a cleric and their deity

3 closely related questions that didn't seem worth asking in separate questions: Is there any requirement that the alignment of a cleric be the same or close to that of their deity? (Obviously, for ...
3
votes
2answers
737 views

How much experience does a cleric get when he Turns Undead?

Is there a standard amount of XP given to a cleric who is successful at Turning Undead?